For those who missed our last installment, we post biweekly updates covering what the staff at Heavy Blog have been spinning. Given the amount of time we spend on the

9 years ago

HBIH Listening To

For those who missed our last installment, we post biweekly updates covering what the staff at Heavy Blog have been spinning. Given the amount of time we spend on the site telling you about music that does not fall neatly into the confines of conventional “metal,” it should come as no surprise that many of us on staff have pretty eclectic tastes that range far outside of metal and heavy things. We can’t post about all of them at length here, but we can at least let you know what we’re actually listening to.

A number of albums in our rotations this week have recently received rave reviews from our staff, including Murdock, Tangled Thoughts of Leaving, Dance Gavin Dance, Native Construct, Chaos Divine, Royal Thunder,  Chon, Alkaloid and Minsk. All of these simply provide further evidence for 2015’s unbelievable level of musical quality, so take a moment to read our reviews and spin some of our favorite albums of the year thus far. Keep on the lookout for upcoming reviews of other playlist inclusions Sigh, Tribulation and Leprous.

Among our repeat inclusions are Cherry Bomb – the latest offering from Odd Future figurehead Tyler, the Creator – as well as two  albums from the artist that will be featured in our popular new “For Fans Of” segment. Also present is the self-titled Monobody record that we highlighted recently and which you should absolutely check out if you have not already.

For those that would like to participate as well (and please do) can drop a 3X3 in the comments, which can be made with through your account, or create it manually with Also, consider these posts open threads to talk about pretty much anything music-related. We love hearing all of your thoughts on this stuff and love being able to nerd out along with all of you!

Head past the jump to see which records have been receiving regular rotation on our headphones, stereos and turntables:

Spencer Snitil

Entheos – Primal EP
Chaos Divine – Colliding Skies
Deftones – Diamond Eyes
Leprous – The Congregation
Gorod – A Perfect Absolution
Deftones – Koi No Yokan
Naive – Altra
Native Construct – Quiet World
Ghost Bath – Moonlover

Eden Kupermintz

Ogre – 195
Leprous – The Congregation
Paul Leonard-Morgan – Dredd OST
The Raven Autarchy – The Obscene Deliverance
Minsk – The Crash & The Draw
Arcane – Known/Learned
Crows – Disk of Dust
Blind Guardian – Beyond the Red Mirror
Kamelot – Haven

Mark Valentino

Pianos Become The Teeth – Keep You
Dynfari – Vegferð Tímans
Pallbearer – Foundations Of Burden
The Red Chord – Fed Through The Teeth Machine
Converge – All We Love We Leave Behind
Moving Mountains – Pneuma
Hexis – Abalam
At The Gates – Slaughter Of The Soul
CHON – Grow

Noyan Tokgozoglu

Native Construct – Quiet World
Arcturus – Arcturian
The Raven Autarchy – The Obscene Deliverance
The Safety Fire – Mouth of Swords
Sigh – Graveward
Keep of Kalessin – Epistemology
Tides of Man – Dream House
The Safety Fire – Grind the Ocean
Linkin Park – Hybrid Theory

Kit Brown

Leprous – The Congregation
Tyler the Creator – Cherry Bomb
Kendrick Lamar – To Pimp a Butterfly
Tool – Aenima
Tyler the Creator – Wolf
Yautja – Songs of Descent
Chon – Grow
Todd Barry – Super Crazy
Devin Townsend – Infinity

Aaron Lambert

Mantric – The Descent
Lengsel – Solace
Extol – The Blueprint Dives
Extol – Synergy
Extol – s/t
Antestor – The Forsaken
The Burial – Lights and Perfections
Tribulation – The Children of the Night
In Solitude – Sister

Simon Handmaker

The Number Twelve Looks Like You – Worse Than Alone
Tyler, The Creator – Cherry Bomb
Coheed & Cambria – The Afterman Deluxe
Coheed & Cambria – Good Apollo I’m Burning Star IV, Volume I: From Fear Through The Eyes Of Madness
Intronaut – Valley of Smoke
Scar Symmetry – Holographic Universe
Converge – Jane Doe
Earl Sweatshirt – I Don’t Like Shit; I Don’t Go Outside
The Fall Of Troy – Doppelganger

Matt MacLennan

Piss Vortex – Piss Vortex
Fvck Mountain – Dead Dogs
Nights Like These – The Faithless
Cave In – Until Your Heart Stops
Cephalic Carnage – Misled By Certainty
Brutal Truth – Sounds Of The Animal Kingdom
Rivers Of Nihil – The Conscious Seed Of Light
Sectioned/Shudder – Split
Murdock – Dead Lung

Colin Kauffman

Alkaloid – The Malkuth Grimoire
Death Cab for Cutie – Kintsugi
Trap Them – Darker Handcraft
Death Cab for Cutie – Narrow Stairs
Death Cab for Cutie – Transatlanticism
Black Crown Initiate – The Wreckage of the Stars
The Police – Ghost in the Machine
Corey Hart – First Offense
Disentomb – Misery

William France

Psycroptic – Self Titled
Nica Group – Lounge
Death Grips – Jenny Death
Death Grips – Fashion Week
Tigran Hamasyan – Mockroot
Alkaloid – The Malkuth Grimoire
Nah – Nurture
Entheos – Primal
Blotted Science – The Machinations of Dementia

Nick Cusworth

Sufjan Stevens – Carrie & Lowell
Royal Thunder – Crooked Doors
Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest
Calexico – Edge of the Sun
The Dear Hunter – Live
Todd Terje – It’s Album Time
The Go! Team – The Scene Between
Tangled Thoughts of Leaving – Yield to Despair
Monobody – Monobody

Ryan Castrati

Dance Gavin Dance – Instant Gratification
Tyler, The Creator – Cherry Bomb
Misery Signals – Controller
Emmure – Speaker of the Dead
The Soulless – Isolated
Emmure – Slave to the Game
Apophys – Prime Incursion
Emmure – Felony
Emmure – Goodbye to the Gallows

Dan Wieten

Murdock – Dead Lung
Born of Osiris – The Discovery
Vermin Womb – Permanence
Closure in Moscow – The Penance and the Patience
David Cross – It’s Not Funny
David Cross – Bigger and Blackererererr
Devin Townsend – Ocean Machine
Queensryche – Hear in the Now Frontier
Queensryche – Rage for Order

David Aleksov

Vril – Portal
Dasha Rush – Sleepstep
KEN Mode – Entrench
KEN Mode – Mennonite
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Get The Blessing – OC DC
Death Abyss – Dominate Through Will
Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Asunder, Sweet And Other Distress
Thee Silver Mt Zion Memorial Orchestra – Fuck Off Get Free We Pour Light On Everything

Cody Cyfoeth

Danny Brown – Old
Vision of Disorder – Still
Angel Du$t – AD
The Swarm – Parasitic Skies
Justin Timberlake – Futuresex/Lovesounds
The Soulless – Isolated
Death Grips – Money Store
Sulpher Aeon – Swallowed by the Ocean’s tide
Black Breath – Sentenced to Life

Scott Murphy

Black Flag – Damaged
The Cure – Disintegration
Gorguts – Obscura
Grouper – The Man Who Died In His Boat
Mayehm – De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas
Pig Destroyer – Book Burner
Prince – Purple Rain
The Soft Moon – Deeper
The Velvet Underground – The Velvet Underground & Nico


Scott Murphy

Published 9 years ago