Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group

4 years ago

Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Acârash – Descend to Purity (black metal, black ‘n’ roll)

Aesthesys – Alignments (progressive post-rock, electronic rock)

Alestorm – Curse of the Crystal Coconut (folk metal, pirate metal)

Dominic Angelella – Poison River (indie rock, singer/songwriter)

Antethic – Mythographer (electronic post-rock, IDM)

Astolat – The Winning Tragedy (progressive doom, symphonic metal)

Astralborne – Eternity’s End (melodeath)

Atavistia – The Winter Way (melodeath metal, symphonic metal)

Banks Arcade – Fever Dream (post-hardcore, electronicore)

Bleed From Within – Fracture (melodeath, deathcore)

Blood Star – The Fear (heavy metal)

Centinex – Death In Pieces (melodeath, death metal)

The Cool Greenhouse – The Cool Greenhouse (garage rock, post-punk)

Dead Visions – A Sea of Troubles (punk, garage rock)

Deathbreaker – Isolate (metalcore, chaotic hardcore)

Deerhoof – Future Teenage Cave Artists (neo-psychedelia, art pop)

Died – Less Life (math rock, post-hardcore)

Dyatlove – Dyatlove (sludge, post-rock)

Exaugurate – Chasm Of Rapturous Delirium (death metal)

Greg Fox – Contact (progressive electronic, experimental)

Geezer – Groovy (stoner rock, psych-blues)

Ghostmane – Baader-Meinhof (black metal)

BLACKMAGE · Baader-Meinhof EP

Freddie Gibbs & The Alchemist – Alfredo (gangsta rap)

Grave Digger – Fields of Blood (heavy metal, power metal)

Gylodon – Life Force (post-metal, shoegaze)

Kolby Hawkins – Kolby Hawkins (prog fusion, nu-prog)

Heads. – Push (noise rock, post-punk)

The Holy Ghost Tabernacle Choir – All-American (chaotic hardcore, screamo)

Holy Grinder – Divine Extinction (powerviolence, grindcore)

Holy Hive – Float Back to You (neo-soul, psychedelic soul)

Christian Lee Hutson – Beginners (alt-country, indie folk)

Inventions – Continuous Portrait (ambient, post-rock)

Jade Hairpins – Harmony Avenue (art pop, indie rock)

Joyce Manor – Songs From Northern Torrance (pop-punk, indie rock)

Melvin Junko – Lofi & Nollie Flips (instrumental hip-hop, lo-fi hip-hop)

Kaguu – Rosewood (prog rock, math rock)

Leon del Muerte – Fu*k the Virus (hard rock, heavy metal)

Lesser Glow – Nullity (post-metal, sludge)

The Memories – Pickles & Pies (indie pop, lo-fi)

Mountain Witch – Extinct Cults (proto-metal, heavy psych)

Mrs. Piss – Self-Surgery (grunge, alt-rock)

New Found Glory – Forever and Ever x Infinity (pop-punk)

Noise Trees – Paper Songs (downtempo, chill-hop)

Nous – Nous III (krautrock, post-rock)

Obulus – Obulus (funeral doom, drone metal)

The OMY – The OMY (psychedelic rock, free jazz)

Overdose – Two Wheels and Gone (rock ‘n’ roll, heavy metal)

Painted Zeros – When You Found Forever (dream pop, shoegaze)

Preservation – Eastern Medicine, Western Illness (east coast hip-hop)

Psychic Markers – Psychic Markers (psychedelic pop, krautrock)

Rannoch – Reflections Upon Darkness (progressive death metal)

Daniel Romano – Dandelion (alt-country, southern rock)

Esther Rose – My Favorite Mistakes (country, folk)

Shaman Elephant – Wide Awake But Still Asleep (psychedelic rock, prog rock)

Sheridan – Severed Spirits (progressive metalcore, djent)

Sinister – Deformation of the Holy Realm (death metal)

Sorcerer – Lamenting of the Innocent (hard rock, heavy metal)

Take Offense – Cause & Effect (crossover thrash, hardcore punk)

Sébastien Tellier – Domesticated (synthpop)

TESA – CONTROL (post-metal)

Wayward – Wayward (punk, metal)

The Wise Man’s Fear – Valley of Kings (modern metalcore)

Varsity – Fine Forever (jangle pop, indie rock)

Vitold – A Ruined Universe Never Attracts (melodeath, groove metal)

Xibalba – Años en Infierno (metalcore, beatdown hardcore)

Scott Murphy

Published 4 years ago