Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Bat For Lashes – Lost Girls (art pop, synthpop)

Bonniesongs – Energetic Mind (indie folk, singer/songwriter)

Cognizance – Malignant Dominion (progressive tech death)

Jom Comyn – Crawl (indie rock, folk rock)

Death Cab For Cutie – The Blue EP (indie rock)

Disillusion – The Liberation (progressive death metal, melodeath)

Eclipser – Pathos (post-black metal)

Foscor – Els Sepulcres Blancs (post-black metal, progressive metal)

Grey Skies Over Rapture – Grey Skies Over Rapture (progressive melodeath)

Hawk Eyes – Advice (alt-rock)

I, Valiance – III (progressive deathcore)

Iggy Pop – Free (art rock)

Kayo Dot – Blasphemy (avant-prog, experimental rock)

Lightning Bug – October Song (dream pop, shoegaze)

Merged in Abyss – Bloodfall (progressive black metal)

Mizmor – Cairn (black metal, doom metal) 

Octo Octa – Resonant Body (breakbeat, techno)

Omophagia – 646965 (tech death)

Pinewalker – Migration (stoner doom, sludge)

The Ritual Aura – Velothi (progressive tech death)

Secret Shame – Dark Synthetics (post-punk, deathrock)

Sleeping Ancient – There Is No Truth But Death (atmospheric black metal, post-black metal)

Sonata Arctica – Talviyö (power metal)

Tinariwen – Amadjar (African folk music, psych rock)

Christof van der Ven – You Were the Place (folk rock, indie folk)

VITJA – Thirst (post-hardcore)

Vitriol – To Bathe From the Throat of Cowardice (death metal)