One of the most intriguing and unique singer-songwriters currently lurking in the underground, Chelsea Wolfe has a knack for conveying a slew of troubling emotions. Her ever-growing gothic folk can petrify the listener one moment and then induce tears with striking beauty the next. Now, a couple of years after her excellent album Pain Is Beauty and noteworthy collaboration with Russian Circles, an announcement of the songstress’ next album Abyss has arrived to bestow 2015 with a darker hue. Head past the jump to stream the album’s first single, “Iron Moon,” and check out the available information regarding the album.


When our staff was discussing “Iron Moon,” Neurosis‘ name resurfaced numerous times. Wolfe’s music may have always had dark undertones, but the swath of impenetrable guitars pushes her songwriting into a much sludgier territory. The kernel of her brand still remains, though, and the track provides a more than ample primer for the remainder of Abyss‘s track listing, which is as follows:

  1. Carrion Flowers
  2. Iron Moon
  3. Dragged Out
  4. Maw
  5. Grey Days
  6. After the Fall
  7. Crazy Love
  8. Simple Death
  9. Survive
  10. Color of Blood
  11. The Abyss

Abyss will be released through Sargent House on August 7th and can be pre-ordered here (US) and here (UK/EU).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.