Canadian tech death up-and-comers Beyond Creation have been on quite the streak of releasing excellent track after excellent track from their upcoming sophomore record, Earthborn Evolution, and the latest treat on offer – the album’s title track – is absolutely no exception. It’s not hard to tell that this is easily going to be one of the best albums of 2014, which is really saying something considering the incredibly solid releases we’ve seen this year. Head on over the jump to get on it!

Granted, Beyond Creation were already in a league of their own with their promising 2011 release, The Aura, but this song is on another entire level musically. The fantastic sonic step up is immediately apparent as soon as the full band comes in following the excellent bass intro, as the band take a more atmospheric approach to their already innovative brand of progressive death metal. Dominic Lapointe‘s fretless bass playing is very reminiscent of Sean Malone‘s here, and his bass tracks sound less overpowering and more tastefully used than ever before, while Simon Girard and Kevin Chartré‘s synchronized 8-string wizardry remains impressively on point. There’s lots to take in here, but everything comes together mind-blowingly well.

I could go on for ages about the incredible bass work and great songwriting this song flaunts, but why bother when you can check it out for yourself?

Earthborn Evolution comes out October 24th and can be pre-ordered at Season of Mist’s official store (or here for orders outside of North America).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.