Release Day Roundup – 5/27/22

Editor’s Note: Do you think we “missed” an album this week? Click here. Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our

2 years ago

Editor’s Note: Do you think we “missed” an album this week? Click here.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Baest – Justitia (death metal)

Ball Park Music – Weirder & Weirder (pop rock, neo-psych)

Besvärjelsen – Atlas (doom metal, stoner rock)

Bishop Nehru – Heroin Addiction (jazz rap, conscious hip-hop)

Black Lung – Dark Waves (psychedelic doom)

Black Void – Antithesis (black ‘n’ rol)

Matthew Bourne – Irrealis (modern classical, post-minimalism)

Brutality – Sempiternity (death metal)

Crematory – Inglorious Darkness (gothic melodeath)

Darkened – The Black Winter (melodic death metal)

Deca – Smoking Gun (abstract hip-hop, conscious hip-hop)

Def Leppard – Diamond Star Halos (hard rock)

Dehd – Blue Skies (indie rock, jangle pop)

Diskordia – Requem for Those Who Dream (symphonic funeral doom)

Gardenjia – Invictvs (avant-garde black metal, disso-death)

Grafix – Half Life (drum & bass, jungle)

Harbinger – A Letter To Anguish (metalcore, deathcore)

Haserot – Throne of Malice (death metal)

Heaving Earth – Darkness of God (disso death)

Hollow Front – The Price of Dreaming (progressive metalcore)

Homeskin – Fixated On An Image (atmospheric black metal)

Howling In The Fog – Reflections (post-black metal)

Ianna – Void of Unending Depths (death metal, disso-death)

IATT – Magnum Opus (progressive blackened death)

Inferia – Grind Cumpaign (brutal death, grindcore)

Jukebox the Ghost – Cheers (power pop, piano rock)

Lord Belial – Rapture (melodic black metal)

Nduduzo Makhathini – In the Spirit of Ntu (Afro-jazz, spiritual jazz)

Mournful Congregation – The Exuviae Of Gods – Part I (funeral doom)

Nimbus Sextet – Forward Thinker (nu-jazz, world fusion)

Nullingroots – Renditions of Past and Present (post-black metal)

Scary Kids Scaring Kids – Out of Light (post-hardcore)

700 Bliss – Nothing To Declare (experimental hip-hop, deconstructed club)

Sever – This Should Have Been a Better Place (post-hardcore)

Simulakra – The Infection Spreads (metallic hardcore, metalcore)

Sisyphean – Colours of Faith (dissonant black metal)

Soft Ffog – Soft Ffog (jazz fusion, prog rock)

Sound of Math – Afraid of Time (post-rock)

Thrall – Schisms (black metal)

Mark Tremonti – Mark Tremonti Sings Sinatra (why tho? Oh, it’s for charity…)

Yama Warashi – Crispy Moon (neo-psych, progressive folk)

Wilco – Cruel Country (Americana, alt-country)

Scott Murphy

Published 2 years ago