Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group

4 years ago

Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

All Souls – Songs for the End of the World (hard rock, desert rock)

Amaranthe – Manifest (melodic metalcore, trance metal)

Amiensus – Abreaction (progressive black metal)

Anaal Nathrakh – Endarkenment (blackened grind)

Arch Echo – Story I (prog fusion)

Belligerence TX – Suicide & Sobriety (metallic hardcore)

Black Mekon – The Lumpiness of Demand (garage punk, noise rock)

Bon Jovi – 2020 (arena rock, hard rock)

Bound – Haunts (shoegaze, post-rock)

Briqueville – Quelle (post-metal, atmospheric sludge metal)

Cryptae – Nightmare Traversal (death metal, avant-garde metal)

Death Valley Girls – Under the Spell of Joy (garage rock, hard rock)

DevilDriver – Dealing with Demons (groove metal)

Dexcore – Metempsychosis (metalcore, djent)

DJ Plead – Going For It (techno, UK funky)

Drive-By Truckers – The New Ok (alt-country, Americana)

Echolot – Destrudo (heavy psych, post-metal)

Eden Is Gone – Scattering of My Malice (metalcore)

Eighteen Visions – Inferno (metalcore)

Eighteen Visions · Sink

Enslaved – Utgard (progressive black metal, viking metal)

The Erkonauts – I Want It to End (prog metal)

Field Medic – Floral Prince (indie folk , freak folk)

Fog of Marina – Fog of Marina (post-metal)

Frankie and the Witch Fingers – Monsters Eating People Eating Monsters (heavy psych, prog rock)

Glass Noose – Monopoly Money (art rock, math rock)

Good Music – Various Artists Working to Avert the Collapse of American Democracy, Vol. 2 (compilation, covers)

Gorephilia – In the Eye of Nothing (death metal)

J. Graves – Deathbed (indie rock, post-punk)

BritneyHouston – Back Down (synthpop, chill-hop)

Hugar – The Vasulka Effect (modern classical, ambient)

Inventure – No Time to Waste (progressive metalcore, djent)

Loraine James – Nothing (IDM, deconstructed club)

Jónsi – Shiver (art pop)

Lamp of Murmuur – Heir of Ecliptical Romanticism (raw black metal)

Legowelt – Unconditional Contours (vaporwave, witch house)

Monster Works – Malingment (progressive death metal)

MyGrain – V (melodeath)

My Lonely Sea – Havoc (post-metal)

Nightmare – Aeternam (heavy metal, power metal)

The Nude Party – Midnight Manor (psych rock, garage rock)

Pan Amsterdam – HA Chu (abstract hip-hop, nu-jazz)

The Pilgrim – From The Earth to the Sky and Back (psych rock, folk rock)

Greg Puciato – Child Soldier: Creator of God (alt-metal, darkwave)

Ranges – Confusion of Tongues (post-rock)

REZN – Chaotic Divine (heavy psych, doom)

Rollin’ Dice – Reroll (stoner rock, hard rock)

Second to Sun – Leviathan (progressive black metal, post-black metal)

Serpent Column – Kathodos (progressive black metal, mathcore)

Shutups – 5 (indie rock)

Silver Synthetic – Out of the Darkness (psych rock, garage rock)

Six Feet Under – Nightmares of the Decomposed (death metal)

Skáphe – Skáphe³ (dissonant black metal)

The Sound That Ends Creation – Memes, Dreams, and Flying Machines (chaotic hardcore, mathcore)

Bartees Strange – Live Forever (art pop, abstract hip-hop)

SUMAC – May You Be Held (atmospheric sludge metal, noise rock)

Tallah – Matriphagy (nu-metalcore)

Corey Taylor – CMFT (alt-metal)

Those Who Bring the Torture – Dark Chapters (deathgrind)

Vonlaus – Röð slæmra ákvarðana (Icelandic black metal)

Westside Gunn – Who Made the Sunshine (east coast hip-hop)

The Wytches – Three Mile Ditch (garage rock, surf rock)

Zöldïer Noïz – Merci (death metal, thrash)

Scott Murphy

Published 4 years ago