Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group

4 years ago

Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

A Certain Ratio – ACR Loco (post-punk, dance punk)

Action Bronson – Only For Dolphins (boom bap, east coast hip-hop)

Alpha Wolf – A Quiet Place to Die (nu-deathcore)

Athon – Athon (progressive sludge, doom)

Avoidance – God of Damnation (melodic black metal, neo-classical metal)

Ayreon – Transitus (prog metal)

The Band of Heathens – Stranger (americana, alt-country)

Bismut – Retrocausality (heavy psych, space rock)

Black Thought – Stream of Thought Vol. 3: Cain and Abel (conscious hip-hop)

Bosphorus – Slow Burn (post-metal, sludge)

Botany – End the Summertime F​(​or​)​ever (broken beat, wonky)

Will Butler – Generations (indie rock)

Cabbage – Amanita Pantherina (garage rock, psych rock)

Cherry Ames – No Brakes (indie rock, shoegaze)

Chrome Waves – Where We Live (post-black metal)

clown core – van (electronicore, avant-garde metal)

Coffin Mulch – Septic Funeral (old-school death metal)

Collars – Tracoma (post-metal)

Combative Post – Whiteout (blackened hardcore)

Crystal Spiders – Molt (stoner-doom)

Dan Terminus – Last Call For All Passengers (darksynth, synthwave)

Death Bells – New Signs of Life (post-punk)

Deftones – Ohms (alt-metal)

Dropdead – Dropdead 2020 (powerviolence, thrashcore)

Dwarrowdelf – Evenstar (atmospheric black metal)

The Electric Mud – Burn the Ships (stoner rock, boogie rock)

Elzhi – Seven Times Down Eight Times Up (hip-hop)

Emyn Muil – Afar Angathfark (atmospheric black metal, tolkien metal)

EYES – Underperformer (mathcore, powerviolence)

Fish – Weltschmerz (prog rock)

Fleet Foxes – Shore (indie folk, chamber pop)

Four Stroke Baron – Monoqueen (alt-rock, alt-metal)

Hello Meteor – The Turn After a Storm (chillwave)

The Hives – Live at Third Man (punk, indie rock)

Horsewhip – Laid to Rest (blackened hardcore)

Idles – Ultra Mono (post-punk)

Jadu Heart – Hyper Romance (indie po, indie rock)

Yves Jarvis – Sundry Rock Song Stock (alternative r&b, neo-soul)

Joji – Nectar (alternative r&b)

Kataklysm – Unconquered (death metal, groove metal)

KAOZM – Labyrinth (math metal, djent)

Laser Dracul – Hagridden (stoner metal, sludge)

Last Penance – S/T (metalcore)

Jamie Lenman – King of Clubs (alt-rock)

Lethian Dreams – A Shadow of Memories (gothic doom, blackgaze)

Madrost – Charring The Rotting Earth (death metal, technical thrash)

The Menzingers – From Exile (indie rock, alt-rock)

Mint Field – Sentimiento Mundial (dream pop, shoegaze)

Moor Mother – Circuit City (avant-garde jazz, spoken word)

Thurston Moore – By the Fire (indie rock, shoegaze)

Morwinyon – Pristine (atmospheric black metal, blackgaze)

Bob Mould – Blue Hearts (alt-rock, power pop)

Mountain Tamer – Psychosis Ritual (heavy psych, stoner rock)

niiice. – Internet Friends (indie rock, garage punk)

Obsidian Kingdom – Meat Machine (prog metal, experimental rock)

The Ocean – Phanerozoic II: Mesozoic (prog metal, post-metal)

Proscription – Conduit (blackened death metal)

Public Enemy – What You Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down (hip-hop)

Realize – Machine Violence (industrial metal, hardcore)

The Reticent – The Oubliette (progressive death metal)

Sapiency – For Those Who Never Rest (melodeath)

Shy Boys – Talk Loud (indie pop, twee pop)

Richard Skelton – These Charms May Be Sung Over a Wound (ambient, drone)

Sophia – Holding On / Letting Go (indie rock, alt-rock)

Spellbook – Magick & Mischief (proto-metal, hard rock)

Sufjan Stevens – The Ascension (art pop, chamber folk)

Surfer Blood – Carefree Theatre (indie rock, power pop)

Svalbard – When I Die, Will I Get Better? (post-hardcore)

Sylvan Esso – Free Love (electropop, indietronica)

Tangents – Sit Still (mathcore, southern hardcore)

TWRP – Over the Top (synth funk)

ultrviolence – Sally Would Say (indie rock, shoegaze)

Undeath – Lesions of a Different Kind (death metal)

uSSSy – Po Krugu (psych rock, noise rock)

Vessel – and it’s still beautiful in my memory (post-metal, post-rock)

Anna Von Hausswolff – All Thoughts Fly (minimalism, avant-garde)

Vous Autres – Sel De Pierre (post-black metal)

War Cloud – Chain Gang (heavy metal)

Wax Chattels – Clot (post-punk, noise rock)

ZEIT – Zeit (chaotic hardcore, post-hardcore)

Scott Murphy

Published 4 years ago