Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

A Blaze of Feather – Labyrinth (folk pop, indie folk)

Atræ Bilis – Divinihility (death metal)

Bear Mace – Charred Field of Slaughter (thrash, death metal)

Behold the Horror – Burn Up This Truth (technical thrash)

Biffy Clyro – A Celebration of Endings (alt-rock, pop rock)

BT – The Lost Art of Longing (progressive trance)

Bull Elephant – Created from Death (progressive doom, speed metal)

Busty and the Bass – Eddie (funk, neo-soul)

circle of sharks – Sever (post-rock)

Circus Trees – Delusions (post-rock, shoegaze)

DeathCAVE – Smoking Mountain (stoner-doom)

Decoherence – Unitarity (atmospheric black metal, industrial metal)

Exploding Flowers – Stumbling Blocks (jangle pop, indie rock)

Eyes Within – The Path Leads Upward (progressive metal)

Fair Visions – A Way Out (post-punk, synth pop)

Fermentor – Continuance (instrumental death-thrash)

Martha Ffion – Nights to Forget (indie pop, folk pop)

Ingested – Where Only Gods May Tread (brutal deathcore)

Tori Kelly – Solitude (folk pop, singer/songwriter)

King Buzzo and Trevor Dunn – Gift of Sacrifice (acoustic rock, experimental rock)

Robby Krieger – The Ritual Begins at Sundown (jazz fusion, jazz rock)

Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire – Live à Caraquet – 15 Août (psych rock, prog rock)

Levellers – Peace (Celtic punk, folk rock)

Vusi Mahlasela – Shebeen Queen (Nguni folk, Sotho-Tswana folk)

Mercury Circle – The Dawn of Vitriol (gothic doom)

Mindust – Lost Transmissions (stoner rock, space rock)

Nervosa – Wasteland (prog rock)

Nug – Alter Ego (post-metal, prog metal)

The Oracle – Hypogeum (dark ambient, dungeon synth)

Orville Peck – Show Pony (Americana, alt-country)

Primitive Man – Immersion (blackened sludge, death-doom)

Roland Tings – First Wave (deep house, outsider house)

Rope Sect – The Great Flood (post-punk, goth rock)

ShakySuperFly – SSF1 (instrumental hip-hop)

Spare Planet – Particles (post-rock, acoustic)

Emma Swift – Blonde on the Tracks (alt-rock, indie folk)

Titan to Tachyons – Cactides (experimental rock, prog metal)

Virus – Evilution Apocalypse (thrash)

Whitney – Candid (indie rock)

Within Destruction – Yōkai (nu-deathcore)

Wounds of Recollection – Nowhere Else Feels Like Home (post-black metal, blackgaze)

Zapatilla – Zapatilla (indie folk, indietronica)