Release Day Roundup – 1/11/19

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

A Swarm of the Sun – The Woods (post-rock)

Amataster – Frammenti (atmospheric black metal)

Born of Osiris – The Simulation (tech-metal, progressive deathcore)

Embrional – Evil Dead (death metal)

Frequency – The Brave Who Stops Fear (melodeath)

Jinjer – Micro (alt-metal, melodic metalcore)

The Jon Hill Project – Rebirth (indie rock, alt-rock)

The Last Ten Seconds of Life – Machina Non Grata (deathcore)

Little People – Landloper (downtempo, future bass)

Mo’ynoq – Dreaming in a Dead Language (black metal)

Ritual Day – Weak Light of Silence (black metal, melodic black metal)

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – Tides (ambient, new age)

Soilwork – Verkligheten (melodeath)

Sungazer – Sungazer, Vol. 2 (nu-jazz, progressive electronic)

Uluru – Acrophilia (instrumental psych rock, stoner metal)

Violblast – Theater of Despair (thrash)


"In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger - something better - pushing right back." - Albert Camus