Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Cerebrum – Iridium (tech death)

[bandcamp video=3253952948 width=560 height=435 bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5]

Darwin – #DRWN (metallic hardcore, metalcore) 

[bandcamp width=100% height=120 album=1901888353 size=large bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 tracklist=false artwork=small]

Earth Moves – The Absurd Man (post-metal, emotional hardcore)

HVTER – The Hermit (nu-metalcore, deathcore)

More of the Same Old Days – Wanderers (atmospheric progressive death metal)

[bandcamp width=100% height=120 album=787940777 size=large bgcol=ffffff linkcol=0687f5 tracklist=false artwork=small]

Shadow Domain – Digital Divide (industrial, death metal)

Sulphur Aeon – The Scythe of Cosmic Chaos (blackened death metal)


Swallow the Sun – Lumina Aurea (melodic death doom)