Release Day Roundup – 7/13/18

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

aAnd? – …wWoof? (comedy metal, groove metal)


ACT! – Universalist (experimental electronic)


Rick Astley – Beautiful Life (blue-eyed soul, dance-pop)


Bass Drum of Death – Just Business (garage rock, garage punk)


Between the Buried and Me – Automata II (prog metal)


Birds In Row – We Already Lost the World (post-hardcore, screamo)


Black Fast – Spectre of Ruin (blackened thrash)


Bury Tomorrow – Black Flame (metalcore)


Chelsea Grin – Eternal Nightmare (deathcore)


Churchburn – None Shall Live…The Hymns of Misery (death doom)


Collections of Colonies of Bees – HAWAII (post-rock)


Covet – Effloresce (math rock, nu-prog)


Deafheaven – Ordinary Corrupt Human Love (blackgaze, post-rock)


Dygora – Chambers of Reflection (death doom)


Echo Courts – Room With a View (indie rock, psychedelic pop)


Engulf – Gold and Rust (progressive death metal, tech death)


Firtan – Okeanos (melodic black metal, progressive metal)


Future Corpse – Culture Ruins Everything Around Me (math rock, progressive post-hardcore)


Hopesfall – Arbiter (post-hardcore)


Koenji Hyakkei – Dhorimviskha (avant-prog)


Imperial Triumphant – Vile Luxury (avant-garde death metal)


JPTR – the absence of . . . (avant-pop, experimental electronic)


Kingnomad – The Great Nothing (psychedelic doom)


Mordant Rapture – The Abnegation (symphonic death metal, tech death)


Morphinist – Sunwalker (blackened doom, post-metal)


Obscura – Diluvium (progressive death metal, tech death)


OCRE – OCRE (avant-garde black metal)


Oubliette – The Passage (melodic black metal)


Pariah – Here From Where We Are (ambient techno, future garage)


Pound – Pound (mathgrind)


Sahon – Chanting for the Fallen (thrash metal)


Sum of Us – Sharp Turns in Dark Tunnels (math rock, prog metal)


Valley Queen – Supergiant (indie rock)


Visitors – Crest (prog rock, alternative metal)


Wearing Thin – More Than Just a Frame (melodic hardcore)


Norman Westberg – After Vacation (ambient drone)


"In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger - something better - pushing right back." - Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *