Release Day Roundup – 7/6/18

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

1968 – Ballads of the Godless (stoner doom)


Anachronism – Orogeny (tech death)


Atrocity – Okkult II (blackened symphonic death metal)


BISONwar – Tribes (math rock, prog rock)


Bongripper – Terminal (stoner doom)


Burial Invocation – Abiogenesis (death metal)


Devil Driver – Outlaws ’til the End (groove metal, southern rock)


Every Hour Kills – Fragile Machine (melodic metal, modern prog)


Fifth Quadrant – Vision (prog fusion)


Carl Gene – Mourning (doomgaze, slowcore)


Gershon’s Immunological Orchestra – Something From The Early Seventies (dark ambient)


Goat Explosion – Rumors of Man (doom metal)


Immortal – Northern Chaos Gods (black metal)


The Innocence Mission – Sun on the Square (indie folk, folk-pop)


Kielkropf – Ignorance is Bliss (sludge metal)


Kontinuum – No Need to Reason (occult rock)


Lié – Hounds (goth rock, post-punk)


MouthBreather – Doll Meat (grindcore, mathcore)


The Nude Party – The Nude Party (blues rock, folk rock)


Pagan – Black Wash (black ‘n’ roll)


Jon Poulin – Loud Noises (instrumental metal)


Resina – Traces (modern classical, solo cello)


Rizzla – Adepta (Latin house, UK bass)


Secret Cutter – Quantum Eraser (grindcore, sludge metal)


Slowly Rolling Camera – Juniper (jazz fusion)


Sunchild – Messages from Afar: the Division and Illusion of Time (prog rock)


Tangled Thoughts of Leaving – No Tether (post-metal, free improv)


WEN – EPHEM : ERA (deep house, UK bass)


Years & Years – Palo Santo (alternative R&B, synthpop)


"In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger - something better - pushing right back." - Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *