photo by patrick haberli

Monuments guitarist John Browne is using the time between album cycles to branch out into solo territory in his new project John Browne’s Flux Conduct. Qatsi, the debut album, is a fourteen-track conceptual piece that tells its story through a series of instrumental movements that reflect the album’s themes of war, balance, and transformation. Qatsi‘s centerpiece “Yang” takes the Monuments sound to a more cinematic place, with some subtle symphonic flair through its guitar-oriented orchestrations. Below, stream the single and gain insight to the album’s concept as told by Browne himself.


‘Yin and Yang are equal.
Male and Female
Love and Hate
Night and Day.
The Balance.
Opposites of the same coin.

I’ve written Yin as contentfullness and Yang as disappointment.

The person in my story that represents Yang is a young person with little life experience that has been betrayed be those dearest to them. They would rely on those close to make them content.

You need to be happy with yourself to be truly happy. This is brought about by wisdom, becoming wiser to your choices through experience.

These choices include the people you trust, the people you befriend, the people you choose to be intimate with, those you choose to spend the rest of your life with.

These are all factors that can define the imbalance of the yin to the yang.’

The tracklist for Qatsi is as follows:

01: Perturb (overture)

Naqoyqatsi: Life as War
02: The Shroud
03: Agarthian
04: The Heart Of Atlantis
05: Zealot

Koyaanisqatsi: Life out of Balance
06: Yin
07: Yang
08: We are Creating at this Moment, what our Tomorrow will be
09: Chaosbreaker

Powaqqatsi: Life in Transformation
10: Actions speak louder than words
11: Hypocrite
12: Siqqitiq
13: The Last Goodbye

14: The Scientific Sophism

Qatsi will be available October 19th. Pre-order for digital, digi-pack, and limited vinyl (!!!) are available now at Big Cartel. To stay up-to-date, visit John Browne’s Flux Conduct on Facebook.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.