Progressive metal fans, we have a special treat for you! Our friends in Dissona are premiering a sonic teaser of their upcoming album Paleopneumatic with us and you can put it in your ear holes exclusively on Heavy Blog is Heavy!

The Chicagoland fivesome have been working tirelessly for more than two years to follow up their excellent self-titled album from 2012. If this teaser is anything to go from, however, Paleopneumatic is going to be a treat! Listen to it below the cut.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

Pretty slick, yeah?

The band had this to say about the upcoming record:

The product of two and a half years of writing and refinement, Paleopneumatic is the culmination of all we (Dissona) have been striving for since our current lineup solidified. As musicians and song-writers we intended to challenge ourselves to offer to our listeners an album that is in itself a conceptual whole but also as relatable a story as can be for the individual. This is an album in its true sense, a cohesive journey from start to finish.

And here’s the Paleopneumatic tracklist, courtesy of our friends at Metal Storm (where you can also check out a full song demo from earlier in the year):

01. Paleopneumatic
02. Another Sky
03. Fire-bellied
04. Outside The Skin
05. Breach
06. Totality
07. Odium
08. Anastomosis
09. Lysis
10. The Last Resistance
11. Sunderance

There’s a privately-hosted pre-release listening party on August 15th. Make nice with the band and you may be able to attend! I, unfortunately, will not be able to attend due to a commitment with Lamb of God that same night, but from the teaser alone, this album is going to rip some spines out. Definitely looking forward to it!

Check out Dissona via the following:
Official Website



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.