To add on to an ever-increasing pile of anticipated albums is 2015, Ghost (also known as Ghost B.C., because copyrights) has announced more details about their new record. It seems that, to no one’s surprise, the gothic progressive rock band is following up their 2013 album Infestissumam with more of the trademark mix of Satanic and occult aesthetics combined with doom-y prog rock sound that many have grown to love. Check out more about the album after the jump.

Today the band gave us some new information regarding the album: name, art, track listing, and a tentative release time for the first single. The record is called Meliora, which is latin for “Better”, definitely less of a mouthful than the last one, and the cover art is astounding. Resonant with gothic splendor, the image looks like some otherworldly piece of propaganda: with Papa Emeritus’s arms outstretched over an industrial block as a group of miniscule robed people approach the great furnace at the center, it almost reminds me of the sort of art you’d see for the mechanized hell of  Warhammer 40,000’s Imperium Of Man.

Meliora contains ten tracks, one of which, “Cirice”, will be released as a single at the end of this month or the beginning of June (so pretty damn soon). The track listing is below, and if you would like to learn other assorted tidbits of info, you can do so here.

01. Spirit
02. From The Pinnacle To The Pit
03. Cirice
04. Spöksonat
05. He Is
06. Mummy Dust
07. Majesty
08. Devil Church
09. Absolution
10. Deus In Absentia


P.S. It occurs to me that Ghost is infamous for having album art riffing on classic occult films. If anyone recognizes what this one is, or has any ideas, post it in the comments please!

About The Author

A real woman has curves, and a beautiful body, and a long neck, and a sorta stubby head. A real woman is made out of wood and has inlaid metal frets and pickups. Wait, that's a guitar. I'm thinking of a guitar.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.