As should surprise no one, we here at Heavy Blog are very big fans of the Swedish harbingers of death known as Soilwork. Their previous studio album, the 2013 double-sided magnum opus The Living Infinite [review], received near-perfect marks from us, with good reason.

So we were more than delighted to see that the band have officially announced a new album! The sure-to-be masterpiece is called The Ride Majestic, and it’s due out later this year. Check out more info after the jump!

The album was recorded at Ghost Ward Studios in Sweden with David Castillo (Bloodbath, Leprous, Katatonia), and was mixed at Fascination Street Studios by none other than the renowned Jens Bogren. So, in other words, we at least know this album is going to sound incredible. The album’s artwork you see above was done by Róbert Borbás of Grindesign, who has done various album artwork and merch designs for many other high-profile metal bands, including Aborted, Suicide Silence and Skeletonwitch.

Regarding the creative direction of the The Ride Majestic, Soilwork lead pipesman Björn “Speed“ Strid commented:

“We just put the final touches on our new album The Ride Majestic and all we can say is that it’s going to be massive! It definitely picks up where we left off with The Living Infinite, but slightly darker, atmospheric and almost anthemic, with some really interesting twists and turns. Can’t wait to play this epic beast live! Await The Ride Majestic ladies ‘n gents!”

We’ve known for some time that Soilwork have been hard at work on new material, but they’ve remained relatively quiet on social media outlets regarding their progress. So, the announcement of The Ride Majestic comes as somewhat of a surprise, albeit a very good one! If it’s anything like The Living Infinite, then The Ride Majestic is bound to be one of the best metal albums of 2015. It’s due out on August 28 via Nuclear Blast. Mark those calendars, and reacquaint yourselves, if needed, with the brilliance that is the band below!




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.