We’ve been awaiting this with bated breath over in the Heavy Blog camp. I honestly have trouble putting into words how excited some of us have been about this. Suffice it to say that we have been on the edges of our seats the past 24 hours or so waiting for this to drop. And now it’s here, and none of us could be any more excited. Holy shit, this is beyond awesome.

The deathgrind juggernauts at Cattle Decapitation have deemed it fit to unleash a bevy of new information to us today, including the name of their new album, the release date, the album cover, and, most importantly of all, a new song. Let me repeat that: a. new. song. from Cattle Decapitation. Truly, this is the best thing that will happen all week. Check out all of this new info after the jump.


The name of the new album is, in typical Cattle Decap fashion, simultaneously grim and a total mouthful: The Anthropocene Extinction is the title, and it fits the cover art perfectly. The decaying body, the arid, dark landscape, and the trash spilling from the guts of aforementioned body point to the band’s typical environmental and misanthropic themes. The track list is as follows:

1. Manufactured Extinct
2. The Prophets of Loss [feat. Phil Anselmo]
3. Plagueborne [feat. Author & Punisher]
4. Clandestine Ways (Krokodil Rot)
5. Circo Inhumanitas
6. The Burden Of Seven Billion
7. Mammals In Babylon
8. Mutual Assured Destruction
9. Not Suitable For Life
10. Apex Blasphemy
11. Ave Exitium
12. Pacific Grim [feat. Jurgen Bartsch of Bethlehem]

And now, onto the important bit, the new song. WOW. This absolutely crushes. From the huge and epic intro that leads into grim tremolo riffs, to the chorus, which is replete with the typical inhuman-sounding cleans of vocalist Travis Ryan, this track is, in my opinion, one of the best that the band has put out. Everything about this encapsulates their sound while adding a new level of scope, which fits the apocalyptic album title and art perfectly.

The Anthropocene Extinction comes on August 7 via Metal Blade Records. It can’t come soon enough.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.