What We’re Really Listening To – 1/29/21

For those who missed our last installment, We post bi-weekly updates covering what the staff at Heavy Blog have been spinning. Given the amount of time we spend on the

3 years ago

For those who missed our last installment, We post bi-weekly updates covering what the staff at Heavy Blog have been spinning. Given the amount of time we spend on the site telling you about music that doesn’t fall neatly into the confines of conventional “metal,” it should come as no surprise that many of us on staff have pretty eclectic tastes that range far outside of metal and heavy things. We can’t post about all of them at length here, but we can at least let you know what we’re actually listening to. Also, consider these posts open threads to share your own recent playlists and talk about pretty much anything music-related. We love hearing all of your thoughts on this stuff and love being able to nerd out along with all of you.

Scott Murphy

Apifera – Overstand (nu-jazz)
Bicep – Isles (tech house)
Celestial Swarm – Gateways to the Necroverse (brutal death metal)
Fractal Generator – Macrocosmos (brutal tech death)
Aaron Frazer – Introducing… (Chicago soul)
GrandBrothers – All the Unknown (post-minimalism)
Lycopolis – The Procession (raw black metal)
Rhye – Home (sophisti-pop)
Robohands – Shapes (jazz fusion)

Jordan Jerabek

Bloodiest – s/t (progressive sludge)
Com Truise – In Decay, Too (synthwave)
Death Grips – Government Plates (experimental hip-hop, noise)
eyelet – The Devil Shining Out Your Eyes (screamo, sludge)
Ferriterium – Calvaire (black metal)
KEN Mode – Loved (noise rock, sludge)
Norska – Too Many Winters (sludge, doom)
Ossuarium – Living Tomb (death metal)
Steel Bearing Hand – s/t (black metal, thrash)

Eden Kupermintz

Apifera – Overstand (nu-jazz)
Kjjjjjjjjj – Centro de Dispersion (mathrock)
Bas Rotten – Surge (grindcore)
Dvne – Etemen Ænka (progressive stoner/doom)
Honey Harper – Starmaker (folk/Americana)
Phoebe Bridgers – Stranger in the Alps (folk/Americana)
Helfro – Helfro (black metal)
Satyr – Locus (progressive metalcore)
Cinder Well – No Summer (folk)

Nate Johnson

Bloody Hammers – Songs of Unspeakable Horror (Horror Punk/Doom)
Magogaio – Memorial EP (Atmospheric Black Metal/Blackgaze)
Steve Earle – J.T. (Country/Americana)
Ben Kweller – Circuit Boredom (indie Rock/Power Pop)
Taking Meds – Live on Audiotree (Math/Punk Rock)
Jazmine Sullivan – Heaux Tales (R&B)
Aaron Frazer – Introducing…(Blues Rock)
Mother of Graves – In Somber Dreams EP (Death/Doom Metal)
LICE – Wasteland: What Ails Our People Is Clear (Avant-Garde/Post Industrial)

Josh Bulleid

Pabllo Vittar feat. Charli XCX – “Flash Pose” (dance pop, drag pop)
Gatecreeper – An Unexpected Reality (Entombedcore, death doom)
Asphyx – Necroceros (death doom)
Enforcer – Kill Grid (crossover thrash)
Cry – 壱 [One] (brutal tech death)
Code Orange – Underneath (industrial hardcore, alt rock)
Trillionaire – Romulus (alt rock, post hardcore)
While She Sleeps – You Are We (melodic hardcore, metalcore)
Architects – For Those Who Wish to Exist (pop metalcore, alt rock)

Jonathan Adams

Thermohaline – Maelström (atmoblack)
DSKNT – Vacuum y-Noise Transition (dissonant black metal)
Bloodletter – Funeral Hymns (thrash)
Asphyx – Necroceros (death metal)
The Ruins of Beverast – The Thule Grimoires (atmoblack/doom metal)
Fractal Generator – Macrocosmos (brutal tech death)
Suffering Hour – The Cyclic Reckoning (blackened death metal)
Aethyrick – Apotheosis (atmoblack)
Svrm – Rozpad (atmoblack)

Remi VL

Here Lies Man – Ritual Divination (stoner rock/afrobeat)
Fox Face – End of Man (garage punk)
Hot Breath – Rubbery Lips (rock n roll)
Aaron Frazer – Introducing… (soul, r&B)
Evert Snyman – Hot Mess (desert rock, psych-rock)
Two Suns – Isolated Incidents (heavy psych, garage rock)
Wallet Sized Wildfire – Wallet Sized Wildfire (post-rock, experiemental rock)
LICE – Wasteland: What Ails Our People Is Clear (avant-garde, post industrial)
Vokonis – Odyssey (progressive sludge, stoner)

Joe Astill

Respire – Black Line (blackened screamo, post rock)
Grandbrothers – All the Unknown (post-minimalism)
Viagra Boys – Welfare Jazz (post punk, art punk)
Spiritbox – Constance (post metalcore)
Caspian – Dust & Disquiet (post rock)
Katie Malco – Failures (indie rock, indie folk)
Rumination – Blue Rose (blackened deathgrind)
Frozen Soul – Crypt Of Ice (death metal)
Uniform – Shame (industrial metal, noise rock)

Pete Williams

Frozen Soul – Crypt of Ice
Huntsmen – Mandala of Fear
Valkyrie – Fear
Intronaut – Fluid Existential Inversions
DARKSIDE – Psychic
Westerman – Your Hero Is Not Dead
Grima – Rotten Garden
Necrot – Mortal
Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag Soundtrack, Sea Shanty Edition

Scott Murphy

Published 3 years ago