Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Absurdist / A Million Dead Birds Laughing – Split (progressive grindcore, tech death)

Arcadian Child – Protopsycho (psych rock, stoner rock)

Arkheron Thodol – Rituals of the Sovereign Heart (atmospheric black metal)

Andy Bell – The View From Halway Down (psych rock, indie rock)

Automatism – Immersion (prog rock, krautrock)

Alexia Avina – Unearth (ambient pop, indie folk)

Beyond Deviation & Martyrs – Bridge to Extinction (deathcore)

Bloodbather – Silence (mathcore, metalcore)

Bloom – In Passing (melodic hardcore)

Blue Öyster Cult – The Symbol Remains (hard rock, heavy metal)

Bootblacks – Thin Skies (coldwave, goth rock)

Budos Band – Long In the Tooth (Afrobeat, funk)

The Bunny The Bear – Afterglow (electronicore, post-hardcore)

Chubby and the Gang – Speed Kills (punk, power pop)

Coastlands – Death (post-rock, post-metal)

Crippled Black Phoenix – Ellengæst (prog rock, post-rock)

Daughter Chaos – Daughter Chaos (melodeath)

Dead Famous People – Harry (indie pop, jangle pop)

DGM – Tragic (progressive power metal)

Emmy The Great – April / 月音 (indie folk, chamber pop)

Empress – Premonition (progressive stoner doom)

Every Hour Kills – re:awaken (prog metal)

Eye of the Destroyer – The Wolf You Feed (deathcore, metallic hardcore)

Future Islands – As Long As You Are (indie pop, synth pop)

Gargoyl – Gargoyl (prog rock, grunge)

Hellripper – The Affair of the Poisons (blackened speed metal)

Hundredth – Somewhere Nowhere (shoegaze, synthpop)

Infiltration – Point Blank Termination (death metal)

Joensuu 1685 – ÖB (shoegaze, noise rock)

Juga-Naut & Micall Parknsun – Twelve Bricks (UK hip-hop)

Juyè – Do Desapego ao Amor (alternative r&b)

King Parrot – Holed Up In the Lair (grindcore, thrash)

La Fin – The Endless Inertia (post-metal)

Laraaji – Moon Piano (modern classical, solo piano)

Mary Lattimore – Silver Ladders (modern classical, ethereal wave)

Machinedrum – A View of U (footwork, UK bass)

METZ – Atlas Vending (noise rock, punk)

Monsters Dive – Dive or Die (metalcore)

The Most – Of What We Have (math rock, jazz)

neander – Eremit (post-metal)

Necrophobic – Dawn of the Damned (blackened death metal)

Ozric Tentacles – Space for the Earth (instrumental prog rock, jazz fusion)

Radiant Knife – The Ghost (progressive sludge)

R.I.P. – Dead End (heavy metal, hard rock)

Scaphoid – Absent Passages (progressive post-rock)

Sideshow Cinema – Sideshow Cinema (mathcore, metalcore)

Slow Pulp – Moveys (indie rock, dream pop)

Jon Snodgrass – Tace (alt-rock, punk)

Supercrush – SODO Pop (power pop, indie rock)

Teramaze – I Wonder (progressive power metal)

Touché Amoré – Lament (post-hardcore, screamo)

Troops of Doom – The Rise of Heresy (death-thrash)

Venom Prison – Primeval (death metal, deathcore)

Warlung – Optical Delusions (heavy metal)

Yatra – All is Lost (blackened stoner metal)