Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Abatuar – Mortandad (blackened death metal, war metal)

Amarionette – Sunset on This Generation (progressive post-hardcore)

An Albatross – Return of the Lazer Viking (mathgrind, scramz)

ARROWOUNDS – The Loneliness of the Deep Sea Diver (ambient, drone)

Genevieve Artadi – Dizzy Strange Summer (art pop, synthpop)

Bing & Ruth – Species (ambient)

Blockhead – Quar and Peace (instrumental hip-hop)

BloodVale – Lobotomy (thrash)

Blu & Exile – Miles (conscious hip-hop, jazz rap)

The Bobby Lees – Skin Suit (garage rock, punk)

Bush – The Kingdom (post-grunge, alt-rock)

DEHD – Flower of Devotion (indie pop, post-punk)

Dethlehem – Maelstrom of the Emerald Dragon (Story Mode) (melodeath, power metal)

Embr – 1823 (doom, goth rock)

Entry – Detriment (hardcore punk)

Eremit – Desert of Ghouls (doom, sludge)

Bernardino Femminielli – L’Exil (avant-pop, New Chanson)

Figures – Operating in Unsafe Mode (prog rock, alt-metal)

If I Were You – Radiant Dark (metalcore)

Illuminati Hotties – FREE I.H. (indie rock, noise rock)

Khthoniik Cerviiks – Æequiizoiikum (blackened death metal, avant-garde metal)

Lianne La Havas – Lianne La Havas (neo-soul)

Lonely Robot – Feelings Are Good (prog rock, nu-prog)

Zara McFarlane – Songs of an Unknown Tongue (vocal jazz, alternative r&b)

Mystras – Castles Conquered and Reclaimed (medieval black metal, folk metal)

Tomotsugu Nakamura – Literature (ambient, glitch)

Morimoto Naoki – Dusk to Dawn (field recordings, minimalism)

Phobetor – When Life Falls Silent (groove metal, death metal)

Protomartyr – Ultimate Success Today (art punk, post-punk)

Razor Sharp Death Blizzard – The World is Fucked (sludgecore, doom punk)

Silverbacks – Fad (art punk, post-punk)

sleepmakeswaves – These Are Not Your Dreams (post-rock)

Sly & The Family Drone – Walk It Dry (avant-garde jazz, noise rock)

SPICE – SPICE (indie rock, pop-punk)

Surfer Blood – Carefree Theatre (indie rock, power pop)

Brother Theotis Taylor – Brother Theotis Taylor (gospel, spirituals)

Tooms – The Orb Offers Massive Signals (sludge, post-metal)

Worship – Tunnels (post-metal, sludge)

Xythlia – Immortality Through Quantum Suicide (avant garde mathgrind)

Ysengrin – Initiatio (avant-garde black metal)

Zombi – 2020 (progressive electronic, space rock)