Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Aleah – Aleah (darkwave, dark folk)

And So I Watch You From Afar – Successors (math rock, post-rock)

Animatist – Inverted (jazz fusion, math rock)

Mulatu Astatke & Black Jesus Experience – To Know Without Knowing (Afrobeat, Ethio-jazz)

AthanaTheos – Prophetic Era (or How Yahveh Became the One) (blackened death metal, doom metal)

Awake the Mutes – Eyes (nu-metalcore)

Black Funeral – Scourge of Lamashtu (black metal, dark ambient)

Boris – NO (experimental rock, drone)

Bowerbirds – Endless Chase: 2020 Singles (indie folk, indie pop)

Bury Tomorrow – Cannibal (metalcore)

Convocation – Ashes Coalesce (funeral doom, blackened death-doom)

DDENT – Couvre-Sang (industrial metal, post-metal)

Deathbed – Strange Attractor (post-black metal, blackgaze)

Delusion in You – Metamorphosis (metalcore)

Dream Wife – So When You Gonna… (indie pop, riot grrrl)

Enshadowed – Stare Into the Abyss (hellenic black metal)

Father John Misty – Anthem +3 (indie folk, singer/songwriter)

Greg Foat – Symphonie Pacifique (jazz fusion)

Grace Disgraced – Immortech (tech death, melodic thrash)

Gucci Mane – So Icey Summer (trap, southern hip-hop)

Haunt – Flashback (heavy metal)

Paul Holden – Worn Boot Tread (alt-rock, hard rock)

Holy Wave – Interloper (neo-psychedelia, indie pop)

Hope the Flowers – Sonorous Faith Pt. 1 (progressive post-rock)

JAF Trio – JAF Trio (jazz)

Keleketla! – Keleketla! (Afrobeat, jazz fusion)

K.F.R – Nihilist (black metal, dark ambient)

Lethal Creation – Tierras Muertas (death metal, groove metal)

Lost Conduit – Astral (progressive deathcore, djent)

LYED/Vientre – Split (screamo, mathcore)

Malcontent – Embodiment (brutal deathcore, slam)

Mora Prokaza – By Chance (black metal, trap metal)

Mt Vengeance – Machines (alt-rock, post-punk)

My Atomic Majesty – My Atomic Majesty (prog metal, jazz fusion)

Opium Doom Cult – Tremors to Signal the End (funeral doom)

Osta Love – About Time (prog rock, neo-prog)

Phoxjaw – Royal Swan (alt rock, post-hardcore)

Round Eye – Culture Shock Treatment (hardcore punk)

Shemhamforash – Entropy (blackened death metal)

SPC ECO – July EP (trip-hop, darkwave)

Svärd – The Rift (sludge metal)

Tav – Tav (post-rock)

Galen Tipton – Goddexx (bubblegum bass)

Trainer – Athletic Statics (no wave, noise rock)

Transit Method – The Madness (alt-metal, prog rock)

Twin Peaks – Side A (garage rock, indie rock)

Virtual Symmetry – Exoverse (prog metal, power metal)

A.A. Williams – Forever Blue (cream pop, chamber folk)

The Winter Passing – New Ways of Living (indie rock, emo)