Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Bruno Bavota – Apartment Songs – Volume One (ambient, modern classical)

Buffalo Buzz – Volume II (stoner rock, heavy blues)

Covet – technicolor (math rock)

Currents – The Way It Ends (progressive metalcore)

Dätcha Mandala – Hara (hard rock, psychedelic rock)

Dendrons – Dendrons (post-punk, indie rock)

Doomshakalaka – Doomshakalaka (indie rock, post-punk)

Ebonivory – The Long Dream I (prog metal)

Emery – White Line Fever (alt-rock, post-hardcore)

End – Splinters From an Ever​-​Changing Face (grindcore, metalcore)

Flatbush Zombies – now, more than ever (east coast hip-hop, hardcore hip-hop)

The Ghost Inside – The Ghost Inside (melodic hardcore, metalcore)

Ghost Work – You’ll Be Buried With (post-hardcore, indie rock)

Gruesome / Exhumed – Split (death metal, deathgrind)

The Hallowed Catharsis – Killowner (progressive death metal)

Leifur James – Angel In Disguise (downtempo, jazzstep)

Sarah Jarosz – World On the Ground (Americana, contemporary folk)

Kaleo – Surface Sounds (blues rock, indie folk)

Sondre Lerche – Patience (art pop, indie pop)

Lithics – Tower of Age (art punk, post-punk)

Nick Lowe – Lay It On Me (indie rock, power pop)

MOAR – Boom Bap Mentality (east coast hip-hop, jazz rap)

Modern Nature – Annual (indie rock, psychedelic folk)

Mt. Joy – Rearrange Us (indie folk, indie rock)

Muzz – Muzz (indie rock, art pop)

Neverbreath – To Defile Is to Transcend (atmospheric black metal)

No Age – Goons Be Gone (noise pop, garage punk)

156/Silence – Irrational Pull (hardcore, metalcore)

Ohmme – Fantasize Your Ghost (indie rock, experimental rock)

PENPALS & Friends – Postcards from Home (boom bap, jazz rap)

Brigid Mae Power – Head Above the Power (contemporary folk, psychedelic folk)

Re-Armed – Ignis Aeternum (melodeath)

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Sideways to New Italy (indie rock)

Run the Jewels – RTJ4 (conscious hip-hop, hardcore hip-hop)

Sår – Alone (Part II) (depressive black metal)

Saturno – Menhir (blackened death metal, doom metal)

Shaw & Grossfeldt – Klavier (techno)

Shuck – Petrichor and Rainbows (noise rock)

Sickening Horror – Chaos Revamped (brutal tech death)

-(16)- – Dream Squasher (sludge, doom)

Slap Guru – Umashi’s Odyssey (hard rock, prog rock)

Soft Plastics – 5 Dreams (post-punk, indie rock)

Solipsismo – Confessoin of a Fellow Citizen (melodeath, tech death)

Sonic Boom – All Things Being Equal (neo-psychedelia, space rock)

SPC ECO – 6月LP June LP (dream pop, trip-hop)

Bill Stewart, John Scofield & Steve Swallow – Swallow Tales (jazz)

Swampmeat Family Band – Muck! (Americana, garage rock)

Thou – Blessings of the Highest Order (grunge,sludge)

The Unfit – The Unfit (grunge, punk)

Verment – Sinister (blackened death metal)

Vespero – The Four Zaos (prog rock)

Waveshaper – The Disk Hunter (synthwave, retrowave)

We’re All Wrong – Nostalgist (deathcore)

Westerman – Your Hero Is Not Dead (art pop, dream pop)

Zilf – The Album (mathcore)