Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

…and Oceans – Cosmic World Mother (progressive metal, black metal)

B E A R – Propaganda (djent, metalcore)

Biesy – Transsatanizm (black metal, industrial metal)

Bishop Nehru – Nehruvia: My Disregarded Thoughts (east coast hip-hop)

Brant Bjork – Brant Bjork (desert rock, stoner rock)

BlackLab – Abyss (stoner room, psychedelic noise rock)

Black Taffy – Opal Wound (instrumental hip-hop, plunderphonics)

The Bloody Mallard – Realm (heavy psych, prog rock)

Bore – Bore II (hardcore, metalcore)

Crasher – Traitor (indie rock, punk)

Cryptic Shift – Visitations From Enceladus (technical thrash, dissonant tech death)

Ever Aura – Soul Sequence (progressive metalcore)

Fake Names – Fake Names (punk)

Josh Feinberg – Time Does Not Exist For Light (Indian classical music)

Flies Are Spies From Hell – Final Quiet (post-rock)

Forgotten Tomb – Nihilistic Estrangement (depressive black metal, death doom)

Forming the Void – Reverie (progressive stoner doom, heavy psych)

Ghost Lode – Lenten Distance (ambient, shoegaze)

Green Carnation – Leaves of Yesteryear (prog metal, gothic metal)

Dominique Grimaud – 19 Feedbacks (sound collage, experimental electronic)

The Hirsch Effekt – Kollaps (mathcore, prog metal)

Holden – Ursa Minor (progressive sludge)

I Break Horses – Warnings (dream pop, shoegaze)

Ice – The Ice Age (proto-metal, hard rock)

Thomas V. Jäger – A Solitary Man (folk)

Kayleth – Back to Earth (stoner rock, space rock)

Mark Lanegan – Straight Songs of Sorrow (alt-country, folk rock)

Lazarus Casket – Warriors of Sacrifice (thrash, melodeath)

Okkyung Lee – Yeo-Neun (modern classical)

Lorn & Dolor – Zero Bounce (experimental electronic, IDM)

Mekong Delta – Tales of a Future Past (tech thrash, progressive metal)

Naglfar – Cerecloth (symphonic black metal)

Oathbreaker – Ease Me & 4 Interpretations (post-metal, blackgaze)

Of the Vine – Left Alone (post-rock, doomgaze)

Pantayo – Pantayo (kulintang, experimental electronic)

Radar Men From the Moon – The Bestial Light (post-punk, experimental rock)

Reverber – Sect of Faceless (thrash)

Daniel Romano’s Outfit & Danny Carey – Forever Love’s Fool (prog rock, psych rock)

Shiner – Schadenfreude (post-rock, space rock)

Sojourner – Premonitions (atmospheric black metal, melodic black metal)

Supernaughty – Temple (stoner metal)

Suura – Luwte (ambient jazz, electroacoustic)

Tijuana Panthers – Pull the Chute (garage rock, surf rock)

Toothless – Misinformed (mathcore, metalcore)

Wastewalker – Lowborn (melodic tech death, deathcore)

Winterfylleth – The Reckoning Dawn (black metal, folk metal)