Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Activity – Unmask Whoever (art rock, trip-hop)

Aeternam – Al Qassam (melodic prog metal, symphonic metal)

Amnutseba – Emanatism (dissonant black metal)

Angerot – The Divine Apostate (death metal)

Aodon – 11069 (atmospheric black metal)

Armoured Earth – Empire (groove metal)

Daniel Avery & Alessandro Cortini – Illusion of Time (ambient drone, progressive electronic)

The Birthday Massacre – Diamonds (goth rock, industrial rock)

buriedbutstillbreatehing – EXHUMATION (metalcore, beatdown)

Cable Ties – Far Enough (indie rock, post-punk)

Candlemass – The Pendulum (traditional doom metal)

Cucina Povera – Tyyni (minimal synth, experimental electronic)

Darker Half – If You Only Knew (melodic power metal)

Dyssidia – Costly Signals (prog metal, melodeath)

FACS – Void Moments (post-punk, noise rock)

Brian Fallon – Local Honey (heartland rock, singer/songwriter)

The Flashbulb – Our Simulacra (IDM, breakbeat)

Half Waif – The Caretaker (art pop, synthpop)

Jeremiah Lloyd Harmon – Namesake (neo-soul, gospel)

The Howling Hex – Knuckleball Express (garage rock, alt-rock)

Igorrr – Spirituality and Distortion (avant-garde metal, breakcore)

In This Moment – Mother (alt-metal, industrial metal)

Irist – Order of the Mind (groove metal, metalcore)

Nicolas Jaar – Cenizas (art pop, microhouse)

Jacaszek – Music for Film (ambient, modern classical)

Matt Karmil – STS371 (deep house, techno)

Knxwledge. – 1988 (instrumental hip-hop)

Little Dragon – New Me, Same Us (downtempo, trip-hop)

Lutharo – Wings of Agony (melodic thrash, power metal)

Magic Sword – Endless (dark synth, synthwave)

Mamaleek – Come and See (avant-garde metal, experimental blackgaze)

Mazikeen – The Solace of Death (symphonic black metal, death metal)

Melt Yourself Down – 100% Yes (Afrobeat, jazz-funk)

Milk Teeth – Milk Teeth (alt-rock, grunge)

The Necks – Three (avant-garde jazz, post-minimalism)

Nine Inch Nails – Ghosts V – VI (post-industrial, ambient drone)

Víkingur Ólafsson – Debussy Rameau (minimalism, modern classical)

Old Man Gloom – Seminar IX: Darkness of Being (sludge metal)

The Orb – Abolition of the Royal Familia (ambient house, downtempo)

Orion Sun – Hold Space For Me (alternative R&B, indie pop)

Parkway Drive – Viva the Underdogs (metalcore, groove metal)

Pearl Jam – Gigaton (alt-rock, grunge)

Sufjan Stevens & Lowell Brams – Aporia (new age, progressive electronic)

Nick Storring – My Magic Dreams Have Lost Their Spell (electroacoustic, experimental electronic)

Subtype Zero – Ceremonious Extinction (thrash metal)

Talk Show – These People (indie rock, post-punk)

Telepathy – Burn Embrace (post-metal)

Temple of Void – The World That Was (death-doom)

Vinnum Sabbathi – of Dimensions & Theories (stoner doom)

Wake – Devouring Ruin (blackened death metal, deathgrind)

Waxahatchee – Saint Cloud (alt-country, indie pop)

Whale Fall – It Will Become Itself (post-rock)