Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Artificial Sky – Luftslottet (progressive metalcore)

Azure Emote – The Third Perspective (avant-garde death metal)

Bacchae – Pleasure Vision (riot grrrl, punk)

Body Count – Carnivore (crossover thrash, rap metal)

Dystopian Future Movies – Inviolate (post-metal, post-rock)

Earth Rot – Black Tides of Obscurity (blackened death metal)

Ground Patrol – Geophone (experimental math rock)

Hot Mulligan – you’ll be fine (pop-punk, emo)

Islet – Eyelet (indie pop, psychedelic pop)

LAC – Yolanda (math rock, post-rock)

LEYA – Flood Dream (avant-garde, modern classical)

Monolith – No Saints No Solace (math metal, djent)

My Dying Bride – The Ghost Of Orion (gothic doom)

Novena – Eleventh Hour (prog metal)

Oisima – Deeper Waters (neo-soul, contemporary jazz)

Pantha Du Prince – Conference of Trees (microhouse, ambient techno)

Pure Wrath – The Forlorn Soldier (atmospheric black metal)

SouphL – CommérageS (avant-garde death metal)

Svengahli – Nightmares of Our Own Design (progressive tech death)

Trace Mountains – Lost in the Country (indie rock, indie folk)

Trauma – Ominous Black (brutal tech death)

Tribe of Pazuzu – King of All Demons (death metal)

Violet Cold – Noir Kid (blackgaze, electronic)

Viscera – Obsidian (deathcore)

VØID – Plaguewraiths (progressive metalcore)

Vredehammer – Viperous (black metal, death metal)

Wake the Dead – Still Burning (melodic hardcore)

The Winter Effect – Elementation (atmospheric rock, prog metal)

Wombbath – Choirs of the Fallen (death metal)

The Worriers – You or Someone You Know (punk, alt-rock)