Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Abrynth – A Place of Buried Light (progressive melodeath, folk metal)

Aesmah – Walking Off the Horizon (melodic death metal)

Ainsoph – Ω – V (blackgaze)

A.M. Feelgood – Albatross (post-rock)

Antibalas – Fu Chronicles (jazz-funk, Afrobeat)

Assassin – Bestia Immundis (thrash metal)

Atavisma / Void Rot – Split (death-doom)

Cloud Cruiser – I: Capacity (stoner rock)

Denzel Curry – Unlocked (hardcore hip-hop, southern hip-hop)

Rafael Denardi – Two Handfuls of Rock (stoner rock)

Depths of Titan – No Mercy (djent, industrial metal)

Elcia – Songs of a Silent Ocean (post-rock, post-metal)

Envy – The Fallen Crimson (post-hardcore, screamo)

Frankie Valet – Waterfowl (indie rock, noise pop)

Giver – Sculpture of Violence (melodic hardcore, metalcore)

Giöbia – Plasmatic Idol (heavy psych, space rock)

God Dethroned – Illuminati (death metal)

Human Potential – I’m Glad You’re Alive (indie rock, noise pop)

Seu Jorge & Rogê – Night Dreamer Direct​-​to​-​Disc Sessions (Brazilian folk music)

Karg – Trakat (post-black metal)

Khruangbin & Leon Bridges – Texas Sun (Americana, psych rock)

Krosis – A Memoir of Free Will (deathcore, djent)

Loathe – I Let It in and It Took Everything (metalcore, alt-metal)

Mount Hush – Mount Hush (stoner rock, heavy psych)

Nada Surf – Never Not Together (indie pop, indie rock)

Navy Blue – Àdá Irin (abstract hip-hop, jazz rap)

Orthodox – Let It Take its Course (metallic hardcore)

OvO – Miasma (blackened sludge, noise rock)

OZO – Saturn (jazz fusion, free jazz)

Poolside – Low Season (synthpop, chillwave)

Radian – Chapters (sludge metal)

Rising Anger – I Am (post-hardcore, melodic hardcore)

Rotten Mind – Rat City Dog Boy (punk rock)

Sadness – atna (atmospheric black metal)

Sepultura – Quadra (thrash metal, symphonic death metal)

Seven Planets – Explorer (stoner rock, space rock)

Shopping – All or Nothing (new wave, post-punk)

Sons of a Wanted Man – Kenoma (post-black metal)

Sons of Ra – Cognitive (prog metal, jazz fusion)

Sound Architects – Regenesis (post-rock, shoegaze)

Steve Spacek – Houses (UK bass, neo-soul)

Spanish Love Songs – Brave Faces Everyone (alt-rock, emo)

The Spirit – Cosmic Terror (blackened death metal, black metal)

Svart Crown – Wolves Among The Ashes (death metal)

Swamplord – Swamplord (stoner-doom)

Sylosis – Cycle of Suffering (thrash metal, groove metal)

Their Dogs Were Astronauts – Dreamcatcher (djent, prog metal)

Thoren – Gwarth II (dissonant tech death, avant-garde death metal)

Tómarúm – Wounds Ever Expanding (progressive death metal)

Total Annihilation – …On Chains of Doom (thrash metal)

Vessel – Vagabond Blues (stoner rock)

XOROS – XOROS (ambient, new age)