Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Aerial Ruin/Panopticon – Split (folk, americana)

The Ah – Mere Husk (experimental electronic, sound collage)

Aura Fragment – Aura Fragment (cinematic prog metal)

Big Scenic Nowhere – Vision Beyond Horizon (stoner rock, desert rock)

Dan Deacon – Mystic Familiar (indietronica, neo-psychedelia)

Deathwhite – Grave Image (doom metal, gothic metal)

Destroyer – Have We Met (sophisti-pop, singer/songwriter)

Dimlim – Misc. (math rock, nu-prog)

Drive-By Truckers – The Unraveling (alt-country, roots rock)

Dune Rats – Hurry Up and Wait (alt-rock, beach punk)

Fliege – The Invisible Seam (industrial black metal, heavy metal)

Former Worlds – Iterations of Time (sludge, doom)

Fostermother – Fostermother (stoner-doom)

Goatriders – The Magician’s Keep (stoner rock)

Leeched – To Dull the Blades of Your Abuse (brutal hardcore)

Lorna Shore – Immortal (blackened deathcore)

Moloken – Unveilance of Dark Matter (post-metal, progressive sludge metal)

Nechochwen/Panopticon – Split (atmospheric black metal, pagan black metal)

Obsidian Tongue – Volume III (atmospheric black metal)

Onoe Copanoe – Invisible War (experimental hip-hop)

Orbiter – The Deluge (doom)

Shi – Depressive Suicidal Stoner Doom (stoner-doom)

Squirrel Flower – I Was Born Swimming (indie folk, indie rock)

[STÖMB] – From Nihil (djent, prog metal)

Swamp Stank – Swamp Stank (southern metal)

Sycomore – Bloodstone (noise rock, sludge metal)

Tricot – Mashiro (math rock)

Various – Hot Shit Attitude: The Outburst Covers Record (crossover thrash)

Wild Nothing – Laughing Gas (indie pop)

Yatra – Blood of the Night (blackened sludge)

Yuri Gagarin – The Outskirts of Reality (space rock)