Editor’s Note: Longtime reader Remi VL is a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations.

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Algiers – There is No Year (art punk, neo-soul)

…And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead – X: The Godless Void and Other Stories (alt-rock, indie rock)

Antagonist A.D. – Through Fire (hardcore)

Anti-Flag – 20/20 Vision (punk)

The Black Garden Circus – Everything is Different (post-rock)

Bleed the Sky – This Way Lies Madness (metalcore)

Blessed Black – Beyond the Crimson Throne (stoner doom)

Bombay Bicycle Club – Everything Else Has Gone Wrong (indie pop, synthpop)

Brotthogg – Echoes of the Past (blackened thrash, melodic black metal)

Matt Carey – Bonkers! (instrumental prog metal)

The Cult of Dom Keller – Ascend! (experimental psych rock)

Dance With The Dead – Blackout (synthwave)

Earthshatter – 1135 (metalcore, hardcore)

Elder Druid – Golgotha (doom metal)

Frogg – A Reptilian Dystopia (tech death, melodeath)

Garganjua – Toward the Sun (progressive doom metal)

Glass Tides – In Between (post-hardcore)

Gloe – Dead Wait (mathgaze, prog rock)

The Good, The Bad and the Zugly – Algorithm and Blues (melodic hardcore, skate punk)

Hollow Seasons – As Misery Fades (progressive death metal)

Holy Fawn – The Black Moon (doomgaze, post-rock)

Holy Fuck – Deleter (neo-psychedelia, post-rock)

Horned Almighty – To Fathom the Master’s Grand Design (blackened death metal)

Isles of Mars – Isles of Mars (stoner rock, hard rock)

Kaoteon – Kaoteon (blackened death metal)

Kiwi jr – Football Money (indie rock)

Magnum – The Serpent Kings (hard rock, prog rock)

Mythic Sunship – Changing Shapes (heavy psych rock, space rock)

Oberst – Paradise (post-hardcore)

Odious Mortem – Synesthesia (progressive tech death)

of Montreal – UR FUN (psychedelic pop, indie pop)

OOIOO – Nijimusi (experimental rock)

The Osedax – Meridians (post-metal, atmospheric sludge metal)

Oval – Scis (glitch, IDM)

Pinegrove – Marigold (Midwest emo, indie rock)

The Plane Sailors – Capsize (inide rock, math rock)

The Professionals – The Professionals (jazz-rap, west coast hip-hop)

Prospective – All We Have (progressive metalcore)

Rage of Samedi – Blood Ritual (sludge metal, doom metal)

Rat King – Vicious Inhumanity (deathgrind)

Ryte – Ryte (stoner rock, heavy psych)

Sea – Impermanence (doomgaze)

Sons of Apollo – MMXX (prog metal)

Victorious – Space Ninjas From Hell (power metal)

Torgeir Waldemar – Love (Americana, folk rock)

The World/Inferno Friendship Society – All Borders Are Porous to Cats (carabet punk)

Wormhole – The Weakest Among Us (tech death, slam)