Editor’s Note: I’m glad to welcome longtime reader Remi VL as a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed

5 years ago

Editor’s Note: I’m glad to welcome longtime reader Remi VL as a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations. -Scott Murphy

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Algebra – Pulse? (progressive thrash)

Bruno Bavota – Get Lost (modern classical, ambient)

Boduf Songs – Abyss Versions (freak folk, drone)

Boris – LφVE & EVφL (experimental rock, drone metal)

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds – Ghosteen (post-punk, art rock)

Chromatics – Closer to Grey (dream pop, synthpop)

City and Colour – A Pill for Loneliness (indie folk, singer/songwriter)

Danny Brown – uknowhatimsayin¿ (abstract hip-hop, hardcore hip-hop)

Deaf Club – Contemporary Sickness (grindcore, hardcore)

DIIV – Deceiver (shoegaze, dream pop)

Dogs for Breakfast – Suiru (noise rock, post-hardcore)

Dysrhythmia – Terminal Threshold (math metal, prog metal)

ESSi – Vital Creatures (experimental rock, noise rock)

Exhumed – Horror (death metal, deathgrind)

FireWalkWithMe – The Eternal Black Rainbow (indie rock, post-rock)

Gatecreeper – Deserted (death metal, hardcore)

Gévaudan – Iter (stoner doom )

GoGo Penguin – Ocean in a Drop: Music for Film (nu-jazz, post-rock)

Gong Gong Gong – Phantom Rhythm (psych rock, boogie rock)

GosT – Valediction (synthwave, industrial)

Harmony Woods – Make Yourself At Home (pop punk, power pop)

In for the Kill – In for the Kill (brutal thrash, melodeath)

In Mourning – Garden of Storms (progressive doom metal, melodeath)

Insomnium – Heart Like a Grave (melodeath)

Issues – Beautiful Oblivion (post-hardcore, alt-metal)

Julie’s Haircut – In the Silence Electric (psych rock, krautrock)

Kacy & Clayton – Carrying On (Americana, country blues)

Kal-El – Witches of Mars (stoner doom)

Kublai Khan TX – Absolute (hardcore, nu-deathcore)

Leeds Point – Equinox Blues (stoner rock)

Levitation Room – Headspace (garage rock, psych rock)

Lightning Dust – Spectre (indie folk, psych rock)

Looprider – Ouroboros (shoegaze, stoner rock)

Maïeutiste – Veritas (atmospheric black metal)

Masvidal – Human (singer/songwriter, prog rock)

Mega Drive – 199XAD (retrowave, synthwave)

The Menzingers – Hello Exile (pop-punk, alt-rock)

Monte Luna – Drowners Wives (stoner doom)

Nap – Ausgeklingt (stoner rock, sludge)

Noorvik – Omission (post-rock)

Penguin Cafe – Handfuls of Night (ambient, modern classical)

Portico Quartet – Memory Streams (nu-jazz, downtempo)

Ranges – Babel (post-rock)

Ripper – Sensory Stagnation (tech death, thrash)

Rosetta – Terra Sola (post-metal)

Saint Karloff – Interstellar Voodoo (stoner rock, psych rock)

Scarlxrd – Immxrtalisatixn (hardcore hip-hop, UK hip-hop)

SEIZURES – Reverie of the Revolving Diamond (mathcore)

The Shaking Sensations – How Are We to Fight the Blight? (post-rock)

Storm{O} – Finis Terrae (hardcore, noise rock)

Suasion – Stardust (post-hardcore, alt-rock)

Surface – River of Souls (death metal, groove metal)

This Summer is Going to Kill You – This Summer is Going to Kill You (tech death, thrash)

Toxic Holocaust – Primal Future:2019 (crossover thrash)

Vultures – Hunger (hardcore)

We Lost the Sea – Triumph & Disaster (post-rock, post-metal)

Wilco – Ode To Joy (Americana, indie rock)

Billy Woods – Terror Management (abstract hip-hop, spoken word)

Yūrei – Saudade (nu-prog, djent)

Jakub Zytecki – Nothing Lasts, Nothing’s Lost (nu-prog, prog fusion)

Scott Murphy

Published 5 years ago