Editor’s Note: I’m glad to welcome longtime reader Remi VL as a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed

5 years ago

Editor’s Note: I’m glad to welcome longtime reader Remi VL as a regular guest contributor to our Release Day Roundup posts! He submitted several of the albums listed below. Join his Facebook group for more recommendations. -Scott Murphy

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

65daysofstatic – replicr, 2019 (post-rock, electronic)

The Abducted – The Netherworld Is Descending Upon Us (death metal)

Maria Chiara Argirò – Hidden Seas (contemporary jazz, vocal jazz)

Astrosaur – Poyekhali (heavy psych, prog rock)

Aswekeepsearching – Rooh (post-rock, ambient)

Bison Machine – Seas of Titan (stoner rock, psych rock)

Bodyfarm – Dreadlord (death metal)

Borknagar – True North (melodic black metal, prog metal)

Boy & Bear – Suck on Light (folk rock, indie rock)

Brothers – Brothers (hardcore punk, garage rock)

Car Bomb – Mordial (experimental mathcore)

Cathari – Corporeality (post-rock, doom)

Champs – The Hard Interchange (art pop, synthpop)

Chron Goblin – Here Before (stoner rock, hard rock)

John Coltrane – Blue World (modal jazz, post-bop)

Alessandro Cortini – VOLUME MASSIMO (progressive electronic, drone)

Cranial – Alternate Endings (post-metal)

Creeping Death – Wretched Illusions (death metal, crossover thrash)

DragonForce – Extreme Power Metal (extreme power metal)

Field Guides – This Is Just a Place (dream pop, indie rock)

Firebreather – Under a Blood Moon (sludge, doom)

Foxtails – querida hija (screamo, math rock)

Freakings – Rise of Violence (thrash)

Ghosts of Glaciers – The Greatest Burden (post-metal, prog metal)

.gif from god – approximation_of_a_human (mathgrind, sass)

Girl Band – The Talkies (noise rock, post-punk)

Gloop – Smiling Lines (noise rock)

Goatess – Blood and Wine (stoner doom)

Godeater – All Flesh is Grass (tech death)

Matthew Halsall – Oneness (spiritual jazz, world fusion)

Hashshashin – Badakhshan (psychedelic prog rock, world fusion)

Heaven’s Club – Here There and Nowhere (darkwave, synthpop)

High Command – Beyond the Wall (crossover thrash)

Ste van Holm – Thaw (prog rock)

Howling Giant – The Space Between Worlds (progressive stoner rock)

Kadinja – DNA (tech-metal, djent)

Kefaya & Elaha Soroor – Songs of Our Mothers (Arabic folk, psych rock)

KMFDM – Paradise (industrial metal)

The Malice – The Unholy Communion (tech death)


Merzbow, Keiji Haino, Balazs Pandi – Become the Discovered, Not the Discoverer (experimental rock, noise)

Moon Duo – Stars Are the Light (neo-psychedelia, indietronica)

Thurston Moore – Spirit Counsel (experimental rock, noise rock)

Nazca Space Fox – Pi (psych rock, space rock)

Nebula Drag – Blud (stoner rock, sludge)

Nervus – Tough Crowd (alt-rock)

Netherbird – Into the Vast Uncharted (melodic black metal)

The New Pornographers – In the Morse Code of Brake Lights (indie pop, indie rock)

Of Mice & Men – Earth and Sky (metalcore)

Opeth – In Cauda Venenum (prog metal, prog rock)

Prissy Whip – Swallow (experimental rock, noise rock)

Pyramido – Fem (progressive sludge)

Renounced – Beauty Is a Destructive Angel (hardcore, metalcore)

SeeYouSpaceCowboy – The Correlation Between Entrance and Exit Wounds (mathcore, emoviolence)

Sleepsculptor – Entry: Dispersal (metalcore, mathcore)

Sturgill Simpson – Sound & Fury (hard rock, garage rock)

Super Snake – Influenza Forever (stoner rock, psych rock)

H. Takahashi – Sonne und Wasser (ambient, minimalism)

Tegan & Sara – Hey, I’m Just Like You (indie pop)

Temples – Hot Motion (indie pop, dream pop)

Galen Tipton – Fake Meat (IDM, experimental electronic)

Trentemøller – Obverse (dream pop, minimal wave)

Vintersea – Illuminated (prog metal)

Vorna – Sateet palata saavat (melodeath, folk metal)

Wednesday 13 – Necrophaze (industrial metal, horror punk)

Weeping Icon – Weeping Icon (noise rock, hardcore punk)

Scott Murphy

Published 5 years ago