Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Africa Express – EGOLI (contemporary African music)

AURAS – Binary Garden (progressive metalcore, djent)

Batushka – Hospodi (atmospheric black metal)

Black to Comm – Before After (dark ambient, electroacoustic)

Burial Party – Please, Electric Move Slow (post-hardcore, punk)

Burial Remains – Trinity of Deception (death metal)

Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – Tracing Back the Radiance (ambient, modern classical)

Cartoon Theory – Yokai Orchestra (prog fusion)

Crag Mask – Bend (alt-rock, indie rock)

Defenestration – Undesirable (death metal)

Demiurgon – The Oblivious Lure (brutal tech death)

Disentomb – The Decaying Light (brutal death metal)

Down I Go – All Down the Church in Midst of Fire the Hellish Monster Flew, and Passing Onward to the Quire, He Many People Slew (mathcore, experimental rock)

Drab Majesty – Modern Mirror (darkwave, post-punk)

False – Portent (atmospheric black metal)

Féroces – Paul (post-rock, krautrock)

Freighter – The Den (mathcore, tech metal)

Gauche – A People’s History of Gauche (art punk, post-punk)

Dean Hurley – Anthology Resource Vol. II: Philosophy of Beyond (dark ambient, minimal electronic)

Mal Blum – Pity Boy (garage rock, power pop)

Merzbow – Noise Mass (noise, drone)

METZ – Automat (noise rock, post-hardcore)

Oh, Sleeper – Bloodied / Unbowed (melodic metalcore, post-hardcore)

Pere Ubu – The Long Goodbye (art punk, post-punk)

Prurient – Garden of the Mutilated Paratroopers (noise, drone)

Torche – Admission (stoner metal, sludge pop)

Tycho – Weather (IDM, neo-psychedelia)

Uzeda – Quocumque jeceris stabit (post-hardcore, noise rock)

Carmen Villain – Both Lines Will Be Blue (ambient)

Wear Your Wounds – Rust on the Gates of Heaven (post metal)