Release Day Roundup – 3/8/19

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Anomaly – Planet Storm (progressive death metal, tech death)

Awakening Sun – Into the Light (groove metal, death metal)

Black Anvil – Miles (blackened thrash, heavy metal)

Black Lung – Ancients (stoner doom)

Brymir – Wings of Fire (melodeath, folk metal)

Children of Bodom – Hexed (melodeath)

Childspeak – Indulgent Endeavors (post-rock, math rock)

Equipoise – Demiurgus (progressive tech death)

Foals – Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost – Part 1 (indie rock)

Forged in Black – Descent of the Serpent (heavy metal, thrash)

Foul Body Autopsy – The Unquiet Dead (melodeath)

Indestructible Noise Command (I.N.C.) – Terrible Things (thrash)

Iron Savior – Kill Or Get Killed (power metal)

Light Conductor – Sequence One (ambient electronic, minimal synth)

Alice Phoebe Lou – Paper Castles (singer/songwriter)

Misery Index – Rituals of Power (death metal, deathgrind)

MUNYA – MUNYA (indie pop, psychedelic pop)

Mystifier – Protogoni Mavri Magiki Dynasteia (melodic black metal)

Omicida – Defrauded Reign (thrash)

The Raven Age – Conspiracy (hard rock, melodic groove metal)

Sinmara – Hvísl Stjarnanna (Icelandic black metal)


Standards – Friends (math rock)


Ten Fé – Future Perfect, Present Tense (indie pop)

VC-118A – Inside (ambient techno, experimental electronic)


"In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger - something better - pushing right back." - Albert Camus