Release Day Roundup – 2/8/19

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

A Novelist – Folie (progressive death metal, tech death)

Agony Reigns – Death From Within (metalcore, thrash)

August Burns Red – Phantom Sessions EP (melodic metalcore)

Be Forest – Knocturne (post-punk, dream pop)

Critical Defiance – Misconception (thrash)

Dawn Fades – Dawn Fades (post-metal)

Downfall Of Gaia – Ethic Of Radical Finitude (blackened sludge, crust)

Electrocution – Psychonolatry (death metal)

Hauschka – A Different Forest (modern classical)

HEALTH – VOL. 4 :: SLAVES OF FEAR (industrial rock, noise rock)

Labirinto – Divino Afflante Spiritu (post-metal)

Laceration – Remnants (thrash, death metal)

Lau – Midnight and Closedown (contemporary folk, progressive folk)

Maestus – Deliquesce (blackened funeral doom)

Cass McCombs – Tip of the Sphere (indie folk, singer/songwriter)

MZ.412- Svartmyrkr (dark ambient, death industrial)

Panda Bear – Buoys (folktronica, indie pop)

Said The Whale – Cascadia (indie rock, indie pop)

Seer – Vol. 6 (doom, prog sludge)

Sentinels – Unsound Recollections (progressive metalcore)

Shokran – Ethereal (djent, progressive metal)

Talos – Far Out Dust (art pop, alternative R&B)

Tribe of Pazuzu – Heretical Uprising (death metal)

Uluru – Acrophilia (heavy psych, stoner rock)

Upon a Falling Empire – A War Between Worlds (metalcore)

Jozef van Wissem & Jim Jarmusch – An Attempt to Draw Aside the Veil (minimalism, drone)

Verdande – Verdande (progressive metalcore)

Viviankrist – Morgenrøde (noise, power electronnics)

Xiu Xiu – Girl with Basket of Fruit (art pop, experimental rock)

Yeruselem – The Sublime (industrial metal, avant-garde metal)

Yak – Pursuit of Momentary Happiness (garage rock, noise rock)


"In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger - something better - pushing right back." - Albert Camus