Release Day Roundup – 10/19/18

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

Arion – Life Is Not Beautiful (power metal, melodic rock)


Brainoil – Singularity to Extinction (crust, sludge)


Buxton – Stay Out Late (Americana, indie rock)


John Carpenter – Halloween (film music, synthwave)


Castle – Deal Thy Fate (heavy metal, doom metal)


Cloud Nothings – Last Building Burning (indie rock, noise rock)


Disturbed – Evolution (nu-metal, arena rock)


Julien Dyne – Teal (instrumental hip-hop, jazz rap)


Erosion – Maximum Suffering (d-beat, sludge)


Exxxekutioner – Death Sentence (blackened thrash)


Field Works – Glen Rose Formation (ambient, field recordings)


Final Breath – Of Death and Sin (thrash)


Gorod – Aethra (progressive death metal, tech death)


Greta Van Fleet – Anthem of the Peaceful Army (blues rock, hard rock)


Guardians of Time – Tearing Up the World (power metal)


Hatesphere – Reduced to Flesh (melodeath)


Hellions – Rue (alt-rock, post-hardcore)


How to Dress Well – The Anteroom (alternative R&B, art pop)


In-Dreamview – In-Dreamview (jazz fusion, math rock)


Malacoda – Restless Dreams (goth rock, alt-metal)


Novo Amor – Birthplace (indie folk, chamber pop)


Papercuts – Parallel Universe Blues (dream pop, indie pop)


Rise of the Northstar – The Legacy of Shi (crossover, nu-metal)


RXYZYXR – II Of V (instrumental prog metal)


Sacral Rage – Beyond Celestial Echoes (tech thrash, power metal)


Shining – Animal (arena rock, hard rock)


Soft Center – No Pattern (indie pop, jangle pop)


Soulfly – Ritual (groove metal)


Thrawsunblat – IV: Great Brunswick Forest (blackened folk metal)


Graham Van Pelt – Time Travel (ambient pop, nu-disco)


"In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger - something better - pushing right back." - Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *