Release Day Roundup – 6/22/18

Each month, we always seem to come to the same conclusion when it comes to our Editors’ Picks column: Friday release days open the floodgates and unleash a seemingly endless stream of quality new music. But while some of our Editors and Contributors sit down gleefully each week to dive into this newly stocked treasure trove, others find themselves drawing a blank at the end of the month due to the breakneck pace needed to keep up to date with what’s been released. Which brings us to this Heavy Blog PSA: a weekly roundup of new albums which pares down the week’s releases to only our highest recommendations. Here you’ll find full album/single streams, pre-order links and, most importantly, a collection of albums that could very well earn a spot on your year-end list. Enjoy!

The Aftermath – Vermine (mathcore, tech death)


Altered Perceptions – Malice (progressive deathcore)


Amarok – Devoured (doom metal)


Anicon – Entropy Mantra (atmospheric black metal)


Archemoron – Year of the Harvester (melodic black metal)


Arp – ZEBRA (Balearic beat, deep house)


Bastila – Mother Terrain (atmospheric djent)


BRZZVLL – WAIHO (nu-jazz)


Construct of Lethe – Exiler (death metal)


Craft – White Noise and Black Metal (avant-garde black metal, noise)


Death Grips – Year of the Snitch (experimental hip-hop, industrial hip-hop)


Endless, Nameless – Counterparts (math rock, prog rock)


Eskhaton – Omegalitheos (blackened death metal)


GIGANTONIUM/JOE QUARTZ – Self Afraid (jazz fusion)


Haken – L-1ve (prog rock, prog metal)


Impending Doom – The Sin and Doom Vol. II (deathcore)


Jedi Mind Tricks – The Bridge and the Abyss (abstract hip-hop, conscious hip-hop)


Khemmis – Desolation (doom metal)


Kuna Maze – 2009 (downtempo, drum& bass)


Ben Marston & Hugh Barrett – Unfound Places (ambient jazz)


Message in a Cloud – Anassa (post-metal, post-rock)


Michael Leonhart Orchestra – The Painted Lady Suite (experimental big band, jazz fusion)


Neorhythm – Zetetic (groove metal, math metal)


Nine Inch Nails – Bad Witch (industrial rock, electro-industrial)


The Orb – No Sounds Are Out of Bounds (ambient house, minimal techno)


Phasma – Phasma (technical deathcore)


PROJECT:EPIGONE – The Crisis Cycle: Unto the Entity (blackened death metal)


Ratgod – Ratgod (deathcore)


Roller Trio – New Devices (modern jazz)


Ships Fly Up – Dream Maker (post-rock, synth rock)


Vein – Errorzone (metalcore, nu-metal)


Kamasi Washington – Heaven & Earth (spiritual jazz)


Yikes! – Yia Mas (indie rock, math rock)


Yukon Blonde – Critical Hit (indie pop, synthpop)


"In the midst of winter, I found there was, within me, an invincible summer. And that makes me happy. For it says that no matter how hard the world pushes against me, within me, there's something stronger - something better - pushing right back." - Albert Camus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *