Tag Archive L’enfant Sauvage

Official Video For Gojira’s ‘Born In Winter’ Teaches You The Painful Breath Of Time


Though the album is nearly two years old now, French metallers Gojira still see it fit to support L’Enfant Sauvage with content. That delightfully brings us a brand new music video for the second-to-last track on the album, ‘Born in Winter,’ and it is absolutely rife with deep imagery and stuff that probably doesn’t make a lot of sense at a glance.

Please enjoy!

Continue Reading…

DEFEND WHALECORE: New Snippet Of Upcoming DVD/Art Book Shows Off Gojira’s ‘Flying Whales


I’m going to put it straight out there: Gojira‘s The Link Alive is one of the greatest metal DVDs ever. Seeing that as a kid, just after the release of From Mars To Sirius, around the time Rock Sound had their own TV channel(!) just solidified for me exactly how heavy the racket that Gojira makes really is. Watching Mario Duplantier tear through ‘Embrace The World‘ and ‘Clone‘ like it was absolutely nothing to him was just mindblowing.

Thankfully, history is repeating itself again, albeit this time a little differently. The band have announced the release of new art book, entitled Les Enfants Sauvages (unfortunately not a Metal Gear Solid reference),  that comes with a brand new live DVD, taken from a show last year at the Brixton Academy in London last year. If my memory serves me right, that comes from the tour where they were direct support to Ghost and were completely upstaging them every single night, so the quality is naturally going to be pretty high.

Continue Reading…

Gojira – L’Enfant Sauvage

Gojira - L'enfant Sauvage


L’Enfant Sauvage

01. Explosia
02. L’Enfant Sauvage
03. The Axe
04. Liquid Fire
05. The Wild Healer
06. Planned Obsolescence
07. Mouth Of Kala
08. The Gift Of Guilt
09. Pain Is A Master
10. Born In Winter
11. The Fall

[Roadrunner Records]

Barring the obvious anomaly of Slipknot, Gojira are probably one of the greatest modern success stories in metal today. Over the course of four albums and fifteen years, the band have managed to create classic albums like From Mars To Sirius and The Way Of All Flesh, all whilst maintaining a steady line-up and becoming one of those elusive bands that has an appeal to both the cold-hearted purists and the more ‘casual’ metal fan. Now, with the jump from Listenable Records to the revenue machine of Roadrunner, it’s clear that the suits saw their ability to get stronger with every release, pulling in more and more of the unsuspecting public every time with their knack for mixing elephantine riffs, proficient musicianship and huge anthemic vocals.

Continue Reading…

Gojira Release New Single ‘L’Enfant Sauvage

There’s just something about Gojira. As if someone has told them the secret behind creating absolutely monolithic metal tracks with huge riffs and the perfect song structure, that borders the line between musically interesting and downright catchy. You’ll be pleased to know that ‘L’enfant Sauvage‘ follows that exact formula, straight on from the masterpiece that was The Way Of All Flesh  (well to be fair, every album has been great). It’s not stagnation though, it’s the sound of a band perfecting and refining their sound — though the Sea Shepard EP has faded into the background we can at least be sure of the new album being released this year.

For the lifetime fan, there’s seamless interplay between the Duplainter brothers, masterful composition and a huge break and for the new listener… There’s exactly the same, plus the chance to realise why everyone goes so mental over this band. And as that June 26th release date gets closer, I can’t help but get excited. Seriously, just listen, whether you’re a fan or not. Pitchfork has the exclusive.

– DL

30 Seconds Of New Gojira Is Infinitely Better Than No Seconds Of New Gojira [UPDATE]

From out of seemingly nowhere, a 30-second clip of the title track of Gojira‘s highly anticipated upcoming album L’Enfant Sauvage made its way onto YouTube. I’m not sure if this is an official thing (it doesn’t look like it), so get at it while you can. EDIT: The sample is available at this location (thanks Domdotcom!)

I know judging by 30 seconds is a bit pre-mature, but if there was any question of Gojira making a shift of sound towards the mainstream after their deal with Roadrunner Records, those fears should be feeling rested right now. This record should be pretty fucking awesome, as expected.

L’Enfant Sauvage is out June 26th on Roadrunner Records. GET EXCEIT.

– JR

Gojira Announce New Album Details!

Finally the beast moves. Gojira have announced that their upcoming highly anticipated Roadrunner Records debut will be titled L’enfant Sauvage and will be released June 26th. Finally! L’enfant Sauvage is French for “The Wild Child.” Guitarist/vocalist Joe Duplantier explains the title:

“When you become a musician, you don’t have a boss telling you what to do so you have to be very responsible. With freedom comes responsibility so I’m asking myself, ‘What is freedom? What does it mean to me?’ L’Enfant Sauvage reflects on that. There’s no answer though. There’s just life and questions.”

Here’s the tracklist:

1. Explode
2. L’Enfant Sauvage
3. The Axe
4. Liquid Fire
5. The Wild Healer
6. Planned Obsolescence
7. Mouth Of Kala
8. The Gift Of Guilt
9. Pain Is A Master
10. Born In Winter
11. The Fall
Further news and pre-order details are expected shortly, and we’ll be sure to fill you in when they’re available. Mark your calendars for June 26th!
– JR