Dead in the DirtDead in the Dirt

The Blind Hole

01. Suffer
02. The Blaring Eye
03. Swelling
04. Strength Through Restraint
05. Idiot Bliss
06. You Bury Me
07. Skullbinding
08. Mask
09. Cop
10. No Chain
11. Will Is The War
12. Baggar
13. One More Day
14. The Pit Of Me
15. Caged
16. Starve
17. Vein
18. Pitch Black Tomb
19. The Last Nail
20. Two Flames
21. Knife In The Feathers
22. Halo Crown

[Southern Lord Recordings]

Grindcore has its gems, but for the most part, it all comes off as sounding so similar that many non-fans can’t really get into a band because there just isn’t enough there. Yes, the songs are short, but things that separate a band like Rotten Sound or Pig Destroyer from any of the hundred grindcore bands in the world is that they bring something more, whether it be with beautiful lyricism or killer riffs, or even both. Dead In The Dirt are here to prove that they can hold their own among even the biggest of names in grindcore, and with their record The Blind Hole, they make a very strong case.

This record really does a number on your ears, that’s for sure. From start to finish each and every song is relentless, just blisteringly heavy.  At times you may ask yourself, “Man, are they ever going to slow down?” Sure, they do at times. But for the most part, this album is just pure grind goodness at its finest, with blast beats and super loud guitars and shrieking vocals that beckon the likes of Nails and False Light. Some immediate highlights are ‘Suffer’, ‘The Blaring Eye’, and ‘Skullbinding’ tracks which are all less than a minute in length but still offer much for the listener. ‘The Blaring Eye’ is just purely dirty, grimy; it’s a great example of what to expect from the rest of the album, and it’s also a good warm up.

There are also instances where the band’s southern flair comes into play. Considering the band are from the same area as Mastodon, it was all but inevitable that they’d bring in some southern twang, which pops up in certain spots along the record. It’d be pretty interesting to see the band explore those ideas further, becoming a sludgegrind band or some thing of the like, where they still play fast and loud, but slow the guitars down and keep the drums going, sort of a post-grind aspect a la Ulcerate. Not to say that the band have a flawed formula now, but it’s something to think about when you’re listening.

The album offers up many songs to choose from, each one brief and to the point, just passing by everything and going straight for the throat. The only problem with this is that, at times, you’d want some songs to go longer. Yes, grindcore is designed to keep tracks short, but it seems that just when some songs were starting to develop into something insane, they stop, and move on to the next song. This hinders the listening experience at times, giving the listener a sense of, “Woah, why’d they stop?” and left missing that track, and ultimately revisiting it a few more time before moving on to the next song. It was the biggest problem throughout the entire record, and there are around 5 songs where this problem became most apparent, notably in standout track ‘Idiot Bliss’. However, the record is still a great record, but in the future the band should not only focus on the grind aspect, but also focus on sticking with some really cool ideas. The songs may be longer, but will be better overall with even another 15 or 20 seconds added to them.

Dead In The Dirt still may have a lot to prove, but these 22 songs are an example of this band’s tenacity; from start to finish this album demands your fullest attention, and keeps it throughout the entire disc. The band is young, and very promising. They may still have a long way to go, and still have some refining to do to help set themselves apart from the pack, but overall, this album is a great example of how grindcore should be done, and you’d all be fools to not pick this up.

Dead in the Dirt – The Blind Hole gets…



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.