Ulcerate - Vermis

Ulcerate are one of my favorite death metal bands. Their 2011 album The Destroyers Of All was among one of the greatest albums of the year, featuring a post-death metal sound that is best described on the group’s latest press release:

A forward-thinking death metal style citing Hate Eternal, Gorguts and Immolation collides head-on into more dissonant and blackened infiltrations of Deathspell Omega or Portal forming a monolithic antiharmonic atrocity.

The band’s penchant for crafting powerfully bleak and technical music landed them a record deal with extreme metal mecca Relapse Records last year. Now, the group are poised to release their label debut (their fourth overall), Vermis.

The most recent issue of Decibel painted Vermis as being even more dense and chaotic than its predecessor, but the teaser trailer for the new album shows that the group’s atmospheric qualities haven’t gone by the wayside. Check it out below:


This will also be the group’s longest album to date, at 55 minutes! The tracklist is as follows:

1. Odium
2. Vermis
3. Clutching Revulsion
4. Weight of Emptiness
5. Confronting Entropy
6. Fall to Opprobrium
7. The Imperious Weak
8. Cessation
9. Await Rescission

Pre-orders are available now at this location, in CD and 2xLP. Expect some new music soon, but we’ll hear the full album when it drops September 17th.

– JR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.