Sockweb - Werewolf

You remember the father/daughter grindcore duo Sockweb right? We featured the group heavily during their initial stages of development, including an interview with frontgirl Joanie “Bolognie” Young. The band have since signed to Monolithic Records and have announced an impending full-length album titled Werewolf.

Now, further details have emerged regarding the release, including an August 6th release date and a rundown of surprising personnel involved.

In some awesomely bizarre turn of events, Agoraphobic Nosebleed‘s Katherine Katz will be performing guest vocals on a track written specifically for the collaboration. This is big news, considering Joanie’s constant comparisons to Katz. Both anomalies in grindcore in their own right for sure, it’s not every day that women are fronting extreme metal groups, let alone a 7 year old. It’s cool to see Katz noticing and appreciating Joanie, and I can’t wait to hear them on a track together.

The Agoraphobic Nosebleed connection doesn’t end there, as grindcore legend Scott Hull (also of Pig Destroyer) will be mastering Werewolf! Also on the production side of Werewolf sits Andrew Zink of Akeldama, who will be mixing the album. Other musicians involved include Jonathan Chun from Goodthink, Erik Ebsen of Spiralmountain, and Joe Torchia of FLUXCONSPIRACY.

Here’s the track list:

01. I Want Pancakes
02. Bunny
03. Cletus the Fetus
04. Broken Glass Swan Dive
05. Werewolf
06. Rosa rubiginosa: Specimen A
07. Lilium catesbaei: Specimen B
08. Bellis perennis: Specimen C
09. Bullies Are Mean
10. Spoon
11. Monkeybar Massacre
12. Don’t Get Mad, Get Fab (We’re Not A Fucking Gimmick, We’re A Fucking Band)
13. Trve Djent

Looking forward to this album for sure. It’s going to be the most adorable grindcore record ever. Below, you can stream the album’s title track, featuring Erik Ebsen:


For more information, visit our friends over at The Monolith.

– JR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.