gorguts colored sands

The return of Gorguts is an exciting prospect for many, something that’s been on the hook for the last 12 years. After all, their album Obscura spawned a new breed of prog and tech death and even became the namesake for one of our favorite bands in death metal. Hint: It’s Obscura.

Gorguts previously announced their comeback record Colored Sands, but now further details have emerged. The album art (above) has been posted online, and is disappointingly monochromatic. Come on, where are the colored sands?! Fortunately, it’s the music that matters, and while the lineup isn’t the exact same one that crafted Obscura, the practical supergroup that Gorguts has become (featuring members of Dysrhythmia, Krallice, and Origin), makes it hard to imagine Colored Sands as being less than great.

Here’s the tracklist:

1. Le toit du monde
2. An Ocean of Wisdom
3. Forgotten Arrows
4. Colored Sands
5. The Battle of Chamdo
6. Enemies of Compassion
7. Ember’s Voice
8. Absconders
9. Reduced to Silence

Pre-orders are now available through Season of Mist, including CD digipack and LP. Colored Sands will be available September 3rd in North America and August 30th worldwide.

– JR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.