Watain - The Wild Hunt

Swedish black metallers Watain have announced further details regarding their upcoming album The Wild Hunt. The album artwork (above)  has been made available, and adequately captures the sort of atmosphere one can expect from Watain. Dark, sinister, and somewhat busy. At first I didn’t understand the connection between the artwork and the album’s title, but the press release explains it all:

Executed in oil and mixed materials, the cover of The Wild Hunt was done by Zbigniew M Bielak, the very same artist who was responsible for the Lawless Darkness artwork. The piece depicts one of the inmost shrines of WATAIN’s temple. As on every classic still life, each object has a significant meaning, while each song of the album is also connected to an object.

If you’re in the mood for a puzzle, pick out the objects from the artwork and try to attribute them to a song title from the tracklist:

1. Night Vision
2. De Profundis
3. Black Flames March
4. All That May Bleed
5. The Child Must Die
6. They Rode On
7. Sleepless Evil
8. The Wild Hunt
9. Outlaw
10. Ignem Veni Mittere
11. Holocaust Dawn

The Wild Hunt will be released on August 19th in Europe and August 20th in North America by His Master’s Noise, via Century Media Records. Until then, we can look forward to hearing the album’s first single, ‘All That May Bleed’ when it sees release on June 25th.

– JR


About The Author

Editor and founder of Heavy Blog Is Heavy. Social worker. Only doing this bio because of internal pressure to comply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.