Deafheaven - Sunbather

Deafheaven are one of the better USBM bands out there. Just listen to their demo tape as well as their full length Roads To Judah and you’ll understand why. A bunch of us here are really stoked on their upcoming album, and today they release the cover art, the track listing, and the release date. The cover is probably going to be my favorite cover of the year; its simplicity is what gets me, and I like it. I’m also stoked the album is going to be 7 songs long, because that means it will be around an hour in length, and I think this is great since Roads to Judah was over too quickly.

Via Deathwish Inc on the album:

With opener “Dream House”, George Clarke’s tortured vocals familiarly intertwine with Kerry McCoy’s hypnotic guitar work before crashing into a wash of post-everything melody. This leads to the moving instrumental “Irresistible”, a track that carries a twisted indie-like sensibility buried beneath glittery layers of guitar and piano. However, it is in the title track and beyond where the maturation and growth of Deafheaven brightly shines. On “Sunbather”, they explore sonic peaks and valleys created by superb percussionist Daniel Tracy (new to the band for this recording). Daniel’s inclusion brings new dynamics to light as an urgent pulse to the swirling musical chaos, pushing bleak epic “Vertigo” and the dark emotional closer “The Pecan Tree” to new, awe-inducing heights. Without question Sunbather is Deafheaven at the peak of their creative strength and vision of their young existence; a 7-song, masterfully crafted work of art that will be renowned for years to come.

Sunbather Track List:
1. Dream House
2. Irresistible
3. Sunbather
4. Please Remember
5. Vertigo
6. Windows
7. The Pecan Tree

You can see expect a review for the album coming early summer, and pick this up June 11th via Deathwish Inc.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.