Persefone aren’t a band we’ve talked about all that much, but are a band that every fan of extreme prog should be listening to. Sounding almost like an even more brutal version of Between the Buried and Me with even wilder traditional prog flourishes, Persefone are poised to release their fourth album Spiritual Migration this March. The humble Andorran band are stepping up their presence, signing to a new label (ViciSolum Productions), having their album produced by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Mercenary, Pestilence), and getting glorious artwork for the effort done by the prolific Travis Smith (Opeth, Katatonia, pretty much every band you’ve heard of). This release was already highly anticipated around these parts, but this all just sweetens the pot.

The tracklist for Spiritual Migration is as follows:

1. Flying Sea Dragons
2. Mind as Universe
3. The Great Reality
4. Zazen Meditation
5. The Majestic of Gaia
6. Consciousness (pt.1): Sitting in Silence
7. Consciousness (pt.2): A Path to Enlightenment
8. Inner Fullness
9. Metta Meditation
10. Upward Explosion
11. Spiritual Migration
12. Returning To the Source
13. Outro

Spiritual Migration is due out March 29th on ViciSolum Productions. To get a taste of what the band has to offer, stream ‘Fall To Rise‘ from their 2009 album Shin-kin.


– JR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.