Oh damn, just look at that artwork. It’s like Sylosis’ Monolith cover without all the pea green.

Amorphis‘ eleventh studio effort, Circle, now has a face, some tracks, and a pretty high mark to hit. Their 2009 release Skyforger got me interested in the band, and I’ve delved pretty deep into their back catalogue. 2011 rolled around and I picked up the Beginning of Times, which could have been ten bucks I spent on a pretty kick ass sandwich or the life’s blood known only as coffee. It was a lengthy album that jumped from idea to idea without sticking on one long enough for me to get into it. Go ahead and take a look at what Circle has to offer thus far-

01. Shades Of Gray
02. Mission
03. The Wanderer
04. Narrow Path
05. Hopeless Days
06. Nightbird’s Song
07. Into The Abyss
08. Enchanted By The Moon
09. A New Day
10. Dead Man’s Dream (Bonus Track)

Good. I wanted something a little less dense from them. Granted, these nine songs might all be seven or more minutes each, but I’ve got faith in them; they’ve only really let me down once. Then there’s the added bonus of Mr. Peter Tägtgren (of Hypocrisy and Bloodbath fame) handling production and mixing, which just adds a little extra awesome to my expectations.

April 30th can’t come fast enough! keep up with them on Facebook for some new songs soon (I hope)!

– GK


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.