Killswitch Engage 2012

Despite the nostalgia factor associated with Killswitch Engage that keeps them in the hearts of fans across the metalverse (they’re one of the hands that pulled me into the genre), most are in agreement that their last self-titled effort was a bit of a bore. The band seemed to be going through the motions and were more or less running out of ideas. I’m sure I’m not the only one that felt this way; sure it was good, but there are only so many songs that can be made that follow that same structure in that style before we’re no longer surprised.

Though, interest in the group has since been rekindled as original vocalist Jesse Leach has rejoined the band, making the upcoming album Disarm the Descent highly anticipated. It seems a little presumptuous to assume that the band will make some grand change in sound when they’re not technically getting a new member, but the reunion must have surely sparked something in the group, and I can’t wait to hear the final product.

After the jump, you can read the full press release announcing the new album, complete with tracklist. Disarm the Descent will be out on Roadrunner Records April 2nd.

(New York, NY): Grammy-nominated, Massachusetts-based hard rockers Killswitch Engage –singer Jesse Leach, guitarist Adam Dutkiewicz, bassist Mike D’Antonio, guitarist Joel Stroetzel and drummer Justin Foley- have announced Disarm The Descent as the title of their upcoming sixth album. The 12-track record is due out April 2 on longtime label Roadrunner Records and is the follow up to 2009′s self-titled release. Disarm The Descent is the band’s first album with original singer Leach at the vocal helm since 2002′s now classic, genre-defining Alive or Just Breathing. Leach returned to the band in January 2012 after a decade-long absence.

The first single, “In Due Time,” will be made available digitally on February 5. Album pre-orders will kick off in early February, as well, with more details forthcoming.

Disarm The Descent was selected by Alternative Press magazine for its “Most Anticipated Albums of 2013″ issue and the band was profiled in Guitar World as one to watch in 2013. Clearly buzz from fans and the metal and hard rock community regarding new KsE remains deafening.

“It is with a grateful spirit that we prepare for this record’s release,” Leach said. “From the music, to the lyrics, to the artwork, we are all proud of what we have accomplished. To me this is by far my best vocal performance, much thanks to Adam‘s guidance and faith in my abilities. I am very grateful to be where I am in life, back in an amazing band with a record we are all excited for the world to hear. Thanks to all the fans for their warm welcome back and their undying love for Killswitch Engage.”

2012 marked a busy year for KsE.

With Leach firmly installed as the frontman for the last 12 months, the band spent its summer on the road. KsE shook the bedrock of venues across the country as part of the first-ever Trespass America tour alongside Five Finger Death Punch.

The band recently embarked on a tour that celebrated the 10th anniversary of Alive or Just Breathing. They performed the album in full, with a few fan favorites and hits from their gold-selling albums, 2004′s The End of Heartache and 2006′s As Daylight Dies, sprinkled into the setlist. KsE were also profiled by Decibel in the magazine’s highly respected “Hall of Fame” feature for Alive or Just Breathing.

In between tours, the band put its nose to the grindstone to work on what would become Disarm The Descent, with Dutkiewicz producing. The wheels have been turning for the past year, as the band supplemented recording with touring. The time is upon us for the next chapter of Killswitch Engage, who were at the forefront of the New Wave of American Heavy Metal resurgence that defined the ’00s and have remained vital into the new decade.

Disarm The Descent Track Listing:

“The Hell In Me“
“Beyond the Flames“
“New Awakening“
“In Due Time“
“A Tribute to the Fallen“
“The Turning Point“
“All That We Have“
“You Don’t Bleed for Me“
“The Call“
“No End in Sight“
“Time Will Not Remain“

– JR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.