The Chariot

One Wing

01. Forget
02. Not
03. Your
04. First
05. Love.
06. Speak
07. In
08. Tongues
09. And
10. Cheek

[Good Fight Music]

The Chariot are one of the few bands where you can feel the emotion they put into their music as much live as on their records. They are constantly referred to as one of the greatest live act in music and their fans are every bit as rabid and unpredictable as they are. Seeing The Chariot live is nothing short of a gift and a privilege, because the experience they give their fans is unlike anything experienced before. Their latest offering, One Wing, capitalizes on the successful quartet of albums that came before it, not only by refining their signature brand of hardcore, but also expanding on it and adding elements many people would have never thought would end up on one of their records. Just as frontman Josh Scogin said, “let’s get weird.”

The song titles in themselves spell out a story; in order, they read: Forget Not Your First Love. Speak In Tongues And Cheek. Though the running time is just above the half hour mark, this album feels very full and is bursting at the seams with creativity and experimentation, while still retaining The Chariot’s chaotic and immediately recognizable footprint. Several songs on One Wing have the potential to become live staples for the band, including standout headbanger ‘in.’ Among the schizophrenic hardcore stylings also lies a few creative curve-balls; the sole female vocals on the one minute long ‘Your’ and the western vibe in the midsection of ‘First’ are things that not many people would expect from the same band that stage dives and hangs from the rafters, but it all meshes together very well in an album where the core sound is still there.

One of the high points on this record comes in the form of the piano-driven ‘Speak.’ Along with ‘Your,’ taking two songs from an already short record and devoting them to something totally different is a big risk, and The Chariot have proven that when they take risks, it works out remarkably well. They are both songs that really connect with the listener, and that really is the most important thing. While those two songs are great in their own right, what most people will really come for is the heavy hardcore signature Chariot brand, and without a doubt, they’ll get what they pay for. No second is spared on frivolities or frills; no climactic buildups or extended outros. For The Chariot, four minutes is a long song, and the average song on this record is between two-and-a-half and three minutes, just the way it should be.

Even the slower songs like ‘Tongues’ are heavy in their own right. And while not mosh material, they still carry their weight in hardcore. This is definitely their most diverse and experimental record, if one could use such a word. While they aren’t breaking new ground, they are continuing the movement they started back with their first record. The thick production, Southern-tinged riffs laden with Josh Scogin’s signature screams. Speaking of, this record showcases his vocal abilities at their absolute best. For all those years of shouting, screaming and shrieking, he hasn’t lost his touch. Hopefully his vocals will remain this way for the rest of his career.

In essence, this is exactly what you would expect from The Chariot, and this is exactly what you wouldn’t expect from The Chariot. You will expect harsh vocals and fast songs, but not the famous Charlie Chaplin speech from The Great Dictator that closes the record. You’ll rejoice for the anthems, and hum the hymns. But, most importantly, you will absolutely love this record, and after a quick search online, you will see that it’s true what Josh says about their live shows. They aren’t just shows; they are celebrations. The stage is yours, as is the microphone. So go out and sing their songs, and experience the thrill for yourself.

The Chariot – One Wing gets…


– SS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.