01. Introduction
02. Demise
03. Human
04. The Memory
05. Ineffable
06. Catharsis


To a certain degree, deathcore is fucking dead. It’s true. As a collective, we are fickle people with short attention spans, there’s nothing wrong with that. If you want page hits and controversy, you rag on djent instead; it’s fairly simple. Gone are the heydays days where the mere mention of Oceano would cause panties to knot into a near singularity and where Whitechapel were known only as a band who carried around extra guitarists rather than a chorus pedal. Interestingly in last few months, the latter have gone above and beyond service and crossed the border into the hallowed halls of ‘acceptability’ for the average, discerning metalhead. With that in mind, we now enter the stage of metamorphosis for deathcore, where the once fertile grounds have become a corpse-strewn wasteland with only those that actually had any substance in the first place, rising to the top.

This unsigned five-piece from Indiana are precisely the sort of band that can survive that harsh and unforgiving climate. Being settles into a groove where breakdowns are used as heavy rhythmic riffs and where the aim of the track is to make a cohesive statement rather than a series of crowd-pleasing breakdowns strung together by less than memorable ‘death metal’ parts. Aegaeon plays deathcore with a bit more emphasis on the on ‘death’ part, which makes for a refreshing take on the style.

After a superfluous 2 minute introduction, ‘Demise‘ hurls itself through the gates, immediately pushing to the forefront the guttural growl of vocalist Jim Martin and the watertight drumming of Justin Bess — both of whom make an early, but lasting, impression. Guitars weave and stutter rhythmically, leaving wide open spaces for leads, clean guitars and fills to flesh out the sound— much in the same vein as Vildjharta or Bermuda but with a little more self composure and lot less of their reckless abandon for standard time signatures. ‘Catharsis‘ acts as the EP’s climax. Tucked away at the end, it makes it’s mark by giving the most value per unit time. Each crushing riff is just as powerful as the last and as the shortest track on the at just under 3 minutes, it does it’s job of being a compact mission statement very well.

It’s hard to glean much from only twenty minutes of material. For instance, there’s a few sections where the band fails to hold attention on the longer tracks — ‘The Memory‘ has it’s moments but it ambles into a few snail pace sections that while technically interesting, lose a lot of the direct energy that remains a constant up until that point. It affects the record in noticeable way but that’s only because such minor deviations add up when they’re in such a small space. But at the heart of it all, Being helps to ushers in an era of deathcore being a viable and respected genre of metal — deathcore for even the sternest and hard-nosed of metal fans.

Aegaeon –  Being gets…


– DL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.