Hold on to your hats ladies and gentlemen. Everyone’s favorite avant garde black metal enigmas Deathspell Omega will be releasing new music this year in the form of a new EP titled Drought. Here’s some information:

“Drought” has the sour taste of the inexorable; it is a musical journey through the last moments before disaster hits. This recording displays some of the most lethal song writing ever witnessed from the band while retaining their unmistakable sound.

1. Salowe Vision 3.45
2. Fiery Serpents 4.15
3. Scorpions & Drought 3.10
4. Sand 1.40
5. Abrasive Swirling Murk 3.50
6. The Crackled Book of Life 4.20

This is some exciting news! Deathspell are hugely influential in the progression of the black metal genre, wielding an abstract cacophony of psychedelic dissonance that you could possibly sell to newcomer as the Dillinger Escape Plan of black metal, if you were being bold with your sales pitch. 2010’s Paracletus left me so dumbfounded that I couldn’t form the words for a proper review, so I had someone else do it. Trust me though, it’s a great album and worth your time if you’re looking for a more forward-thinking gateway into the genre. Go out into the wilds of the internet and give it a listen to bone up on your Deathspell before Drought drops June 22nd on Season of Mist. It is now available for pre-order at this location.

– JR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.