Seeing as how Amazon UK spilled the beans yesterday, Ihsahn‘s camp decided to confirm and elaborate on the details behind Ihsahn’s upcoming fourth solo album Eremita. The opening paragraph of the press release contains the biggest news in my opinion, and will cause nerdy excitement across the metal blogosphere:

Recorded and produced at Telemark’s Ivory Shoulder Studios, with additional tracking completed at Notodden’s Juke Joint Studio and Seattle’s Envisage Audio, Eremita was mixed by Jens Bogren (Opeth) at Fascination Street Studios in Orebo, Sweden. Alongside IHSAHN, the album features performances from drummer Tobias Ornes Andersen (Leprous), saxophonist Jorgen Munkeby (SHINING), guitarist Jeff Loomis (ex-Nevermore), and vocalists Devin Townsend, Einar Solberg (Leprous), and Heidi S. Tveitan (Star of Ash). The album’s packaging has been created by award-winning Spanish designer Ritxi Ostariz.

Sweet Jesus! Heavy Blog favorite Devin Townsend will be lending his vocal work on a track, which should really be something excellent. The duo’s teaming on Devin Townsend Project’s ‘Juular’ was awesome enough as it is, but it’s great to hear they’ve been working together again. Also confirmed are Tobias Andersen (drums) and Einar Solberg (vocals) of Leprous, who have been performing as his live band during shows. This album suddenly became too hot to handle. There’s no way Eremita won’t crack best-of lists this year.

Eremita is due out June 19th on Candlelight Records. Get stoked!

– JR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.